Quantcast JVC DVD recorders $68 at ecost.com - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-28-2008, 02:21 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,705
Thanked 2,139 Times in 1,840 Posts
http://www.ecost.com/Detail.aspx?edp=39314701

For those who have a sudden interest in a good machine that will encode well from analog/SD sources, as well as clean up VHS quality.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-29-2008, 02:21 AM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I love my JVC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-29-2008, 02:50 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
so should i get this and the philips?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-29-2008, 02:54 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
got this stupid error trying to order it
ADODB.Command error '800a0d5d'

Application uses a value of the wrong type for the current operation.

/co_ecost/div_ecost/shop/checkout/checkout_submit_lib.asp, line 496
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-29-2008, 02:59 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
ok. i dont understand why you say its the best but everyone else says it doesnt work for long

whats up with the loading problem?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-29-2008, 05:41 AM
DAN_D DAN_D is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: LOS ANGELES, CA, USA
Posts: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have the JVC DRM-10S, it really is the best you could get, especially if you use S-VHS cables to connect it. I also tried adding it to yhe cart, no issue for me. Try ordering it again....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-29-2008, 05:51 AM
staypuftman2004 staypuftman2004 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
have not had any problem with my JVC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
01-29-2008, 06:38 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,705
Thanked 2,139 Times in 1,840 Posts
The JVC does not do 16:9 for HD, nor does it have a digital tuner.
This machine is best for traditional sources, specially VHS.

The other thread mentioned HD material, hence the Philips 3575 was suggested.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
01-29-2008, 07:02 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
im just going to order it by phone
Reply With Quote
  #10  
01-29-2008, 07:03 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
should i get this or no
Electronics Replacement Warranty 1 year 2 year?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
01-29-2008, 09:13 AM
DAN_D DAN_D is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: LOS ANGELES, CA, USA
Posts: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you can if you like, though often warenties for non "big ticket" items are not worth getting, and you're just giving them more money, for nothing IMO. Also, this machine is getting harder and harder to accquire, so I doubt they could find you a replacement
Reply With Quote
  #12  
01-29-2008, 10:04 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
ok bought it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
01-29-2008, 10:56 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,705
Thanked 2,139 Times in 1,840 Posts
"LOADING" is a generic error message that flashes on screen. It might as well say "HELP ME!" instead. It can vary from a blown power supply fuse or capacitor, or simply using a dirty or crappy disc. The very first JVC machines used cheap Chinese capacitors (MANY items from this time period were bitten by them, including AMD and others), which fizzled out and had to be replaced. You replace them with larger, better-made ones, problem is gone. That's what JVC did. Refurbs are almost always better quality than when originally sold.

NOTE: Turn power save mode OFF when not using for timer recordings.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #14  
01-29-2008, 10:58 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
this is going to be good cause i been finding some sneaky retail cartoons on vhs at the goodwill and other places like that for a dollar each and some mighty ducks cartoon episodes and bunch of other things so this will help me out a bunch. i just need a vcr now that will be good
Reply With Quote
  #15  
01-30-2008, 07:50 AM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
After the first JVC I bought from Ecost was a dud, I got another one, and it has worked like a champ ever since. So, if at first it don't succeed, try,try again
Reply With Quote
  #16  
02-02-2008, 01:12 AM
Tranzor Tranzor is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I already own this machine but I might get another as a backup. I love the quailty on it and I pretty much only us it for older vhs/laser beta tapes anyway
Reply With Quote
  #17  
02-02-2008, 01:19 AM
Tranzor Tranzor is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dang!!!! It must have sold out. I do not see it listed
Reply With Quote
  #18  
02-03-2008, 08:24 AM
wayshway wayshway is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 100
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to wayshway
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by Robot

dang!!!! It must have sold out. I do not see it listed
Reply With Quote
  #19  
02-03-2008, 08:38 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
glad i got it
Reply With Quote
  #20  
02-03-2008, 12:27 PM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
bummer
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JVC DVD recorders MagnificentMarcus Capture, Record, Transfer 2 06-11-2007 11:30 AM
HD-TVs, DVD Recorders, Blu-Ray and HD-DVDs???? MOTUfan Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 30 03-19-2006 02:36 PM
HDTV DVD recorders? Looking for positive reviews... Neuroslicer Capture, Record, Transfer 0 12-30-2005 03:41 AM
DVD Recorders gatch72 Capture, Record, Transfer 29 07-23-2005 12:27 PM
DVD recorders with harddrives? MagnificentMarcus Capture, Record, Transfer 3 07-02-2005 05:16 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM