Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
06-20-2021, 10:44 PM
Free Member

I got a new VCR (JVC SR-MV45) from LordSmurf almost two weeks ago and I'm in love. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU LS THIS VCR IS AMAZINGGGGG

It's blows my old D-VHS deck out of the water quality wise!

D-VHS Deck (HM-DH30000U)
dvhsdeckep.png

SR-MV45
You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.

If you're considering getting a D-VHS deck for standard VHS transfers, don't. You'll have a bad time.

I do have some observations and some questions about this because I'm somewhat new to using JVC's with a *proper* TBC and not some half-ass TBC like the D-VHS deck had.

I had one issue on my D-VHS deck where out of nowhere the image would just start jumping along like crazy, like a weird field order switch or whatever.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMzoEnAA3EY
I have yet to encounter that issue with the new VCR y̶e̶t̶.

EP tracking is hit or miss. This is one of LS's B+ decks (tracks SP and LP fine, EP depends). No fault of anyone. I got some EP tapes that have some shows and doing the manual tracking while capturing is a bit of a pain since it can't really hold it when I rewind to the beginning. It's a bit of a pain but I'll manage

I've also noticed that the brightness sometimes goes up slightly and goes back down. It's not an issue of my capture card because I also notice it when I have it hooked up to my CRT. Is this normal?