Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
10-08-2021, 11:36 AM
Free Member

Hello!

My August VGB100 had suddenly stopped displaying video, and so I uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers from their website, but the audio is crispy and regularly breaks for a short second. Before this happened, I had a driver named "Analog Audio In (USB 2.0)..." but I can't seem to find anything with that name. I am now stuck with an audio capture driver which outputs crusty audio, and for captures, this sucks...

I'd like to ask if anyone could help me with that, as I've been trying to find anything that worked but I'm a newbie in terms of driver stuff

Any help is appreciated!
Thanks
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

10-08-2021, 11:55 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,458 Times in 2,090 Posts
August VGB100 = Easycap (aka Easycrap)

Honestly, humorously, the card did you a favor by uninstalling itself. You need to use something better. It has multiple drastic issues, both with quality and usability. The most damning issue is that it blows out luma, overexposes captures. Everything is too bright, and it looks terrible.

That's literally a $4 capture card that sells for $40 rebadged on eBay/Amazon. But it's not even worth $4, must less 10x.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
10-08-2021, 12:06 PM
Free Member

It's not an easycap, it's based on the same hardware as the Diamond VC500 afaik. (Though I do think they had another model that used a similar empia+video chip hardware setup similar to pinnacle dazzle and maybe some easycap variants.)

One thing you can do to search for different/older drivers for a specific device is to google for the device hardware id string found in the device manager (though be vary of sketchy driver websites).