09-08-2021, 05:14 AM
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer

Hello all,

I got VHS Decode working last night, I'm going to do a step-by-step of what I've done (it's not the easiest if you're not familiar with using Github, Linux etc) but I'm going to do a step-by-step of the things that I've done and hopefully it'll be replicable for a good number of people.

Just as a grounding, I'm no expert in this, I "know" my video machines, am a technical guy (but not in this field; by qualification), Amateur Radio licence holder (so I have a good foundational understanding of RF), moderately-competent programmer and blessed with a bit of free time and a business with a room I can set this stuff up in. I'm not an expert on anything to do with this in any regard, just a keen amateur.

VHS-Decode is something I've been fascinated with, I won't retell the whole story, and I am only a step ahead of you with this, I'm very much a novice with this, but as I go along I thought a guide on how to set it up might be useful for those who've not got their hands dirty with 'hardcore' Python, Github or hardware tinkering.

What is VHS Decode?

Firstly, props to the guys who've been behind this (and by extension the LD-Decode team) - you're absolute geniuses, I genuinely am in awe at what's been accomplished here, each and every single person who's contributed to this. It's the guys & gals like this who mean helmets like me who sit on the internet can play with this stuff too. Remember to show your appreciation too if you take this further and do what you can to feedback to the community.