Quantcast Can you capture to external hard drive? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
10-09-2021, 08:35 PM
misery misery is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I read somewhere on here to "never capture on external drives".

So If I have VHS > TBC > USB Capture Device connected to a USB 3 Port and a 1TB SSD Internal and 10TB External HD (USB 3), does this mean I can't make the videos on the External, it has to be on the SSD? And then afterwards you cut the video to the External? If so, why is this?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-09-2021, 08:54 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,917
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
No.

External drives do not have the sustained connection required. (Firewire did, but USB does not.)

HDD vs. SSD does not matter, USB is the limiter.

Attempting to use USB will drop frames, and have other issues.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-10-2021, 04:51 AM
misery misery is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
When you say USB is the limiter, do you mean it's the limiter for the External, or also the capture device?

For the external, can you use a USB to eSATA adapter to fix the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
10-10-2021, 05:37 AM
lollo2 lollo2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 515
Thanked 153 Times in 133 Posts
USB is busy to get data from the capture card. If you ask him to also send data to the external disk, whatever interface you use, you may have problems.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
10-11-2021, 03:40 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,917
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
The data from the capture card isn't the same as writing the files of data. USB is fine for the capture card, but not for the external write (HDD, SSD).

USB still goes over the CPU. It's not direct connected like a SATA or PCIe device, bypassing CPU. Very often, it makes no difference. But video isn't one of those times.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
10-11-2021, 09:11 AM
RobustReviews RobustReviews is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: London - UK
Posts: 554
Thanked 85 Times in 74 Posts
We have done it, with total success so might be a "suck it and see" sort of thing but it's certainly not an optimal way of doing it. We've also tried it with zero success when we've had drives fail on machines in use - I can say that we have done it with zero dropped frames and no issues though on videos of about 90 minutes in length.

I'm thinking back to "that afternoon" which is something of a legend in our towers were we had just about all hardware fail at once.

We did do it with the editing workstations with serious horsepower though (water cooled Thread Rippers, 128GB of RAM, M2 cache drive etc), I don't think I'd try it on our more modest capture machines.

We do capture almost exclusively to internal SSD or file-server without issues though, despite some dire warnings to the contrary, it's not an issue we have with even our more modest machines.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
10-16-2021, 08:13 AM
ffmpeguserss ffmpeguserss is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 35
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Second that, trying it out is one sure way to find out.

Another way could be mapping a drive from a network share with gigabit ethernet; I haven't tried it myself, but the thoroughputs I'm seeing on gigabit ethernet seem similar to a local SATA drive at least with my setup. Might have to tinker with the network settings to get better latency. Then again I haven't tried it.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I capture to external hard drive via USB? greeneagle Project Planning, Workflows 3 04-11-2018 10:58 AM
Best 3TB External Hard Drive? TylerDurden389 Computers 28 05-13-2014 12:41 PM
Clone drive to external hard drive? (back up) nick_27 Computers 1 04-23-2013 06:43 AM
External hard drive advice naripeddi Computers 3 02-14-2012 10:03 PM
Best aluminum external hard drive enclosures under $70.00 Sossity Computers 3 12-21-2010 09:44 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM