Quantcast VHS transfer, XP machine requirements? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-07-2022, 04:02 PM
Closecall Closecall is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 67
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hi all,

I have been researching about how to set up my computers for VHS digitizing and I found that the best is XP and for editing/restoration to have a separate, more powerful, modern machine for that.

I haven't, however, been able to find if there are specific requirements for the XP machine beside it running well.
I have an HP Pavilion m7500y media center with Windows XP 2002
It has a Pentium 4 - 3.2GHz and 1 GB of RAM
I also believe it has an integrated NVIDIA graphics chip

Would there be any issues using this machine with an ATI AIW USB to Virtualdub?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-07-2022, 04:58 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
These days, minimums =
- SATA (2/3 preferably)
- 2gb RAM
- 2nd hard drive as capture drive, not OS drive
- dual core

Capturing on IDE was possible, we did it, but it sucked. Not enough space, I/O issues that caused dropped frames.

P4 same, we did it, it sucked. Dual core at least runs OS in a core, capture in a core, so not fighting for CPU %.

Will it work? Sure.
Will it work well. Maybe. Good luck.

You can build an XP system that uses bleeding edge from 2017, 7th gen Intel i3/5/7 CPU. SATA3, more than 4gb RAM, etc. It has costs, takes some setup time. So that's the other end of the spectrum.

Most anything from the 2010s work decent.
2000s not really suggested.
2020s doers not work, XP will not install anymore.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Diopter_Doctor (02-10-2022)
  #3  
02-07-2022, 10:44 PM
Closecall Closecall is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 67
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Okay, Thank you!

I will do some digging on my end and see what kind of options I can find.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-08-2022, 11:53 PM
Closecall Closecall is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 67
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Would this be the worst to use if we don't currently have a windows xp machine to use


Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20220208_234742.jpg (80.1 KB, 12 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-09-2022, 07:43 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
In terms of the hardware, that should be fine. Again, 2nd internal SATA HDD for the captures, not the OS drive.

AIW is XP only, so either replace the OS drive (ie, easy revert to Vista later), or reformat to XP. But use the XP Integral community edition found online, not the now-ancient official version that probably won't even install. (Note: the dev of Integral is a political kook, so don't stray from the XP download page. You'll just get dumber by reading his BS.)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Diopter_Doctor (02-10-2022)
  #6  
02-09-2022, 11:53 AM
Closecall Closecall is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 67
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
In terms of the hardware, that should be fine. Again, 2nd internal SATA HDD for the captures, not the OS drive.

AIW is XP only, so either replace the OS drive (ie, easy revert to Vista later), or reformat to XP. But use the XP Integral community edition found online, not the now-ancient official version that probably won't even install. (Note: the dev of Integral is a political kook, so don't stray from the XP download page. You'll just get dumber by reading his BS.)
Would this be what you are talking about? < link removed >
Reply With Quote
  #7  
02-09-2022, 11:56 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
Correct., XP Integral.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-09-2022, 12:49 PM
Closecall Closecall is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 67
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Okay great! Thank you.

Also, I was curious as to why the preference was for XP 32x and not 64x?
I have seen everyone recommending 32 bit and found it interesting considering VirtualDub works on both and the faster processing speed you would think would be better.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
02-09-2022, 08:55 PM
Closecall Closecall is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 67
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
In terms of the hardware, that should be fine. Again, 2nd internal SATA HDD for the captures, not the OS drive.

AIW is XP only, so either replace the OS drive (ie, easy revert to Vista later), or reformat to XP. But use the XP Integral community edition found online, not the now-ancient official version that probably won't even install. (Note: the dev of Integral is a political kook, so don't stray from the XP download page. You'll just get dumber by reading his BS.)
Would a second SATA drive (external) work the same? We have a mini-desktop that can only hold 1 internal SATA drive.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
02-09-2022, 10:17 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
USB drives will almost never work. The throughput is not constant, and USB hits the CPU. If that SATA is SATA3, then you can attempt to partition it, and capture to that 2nd partition.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #11  
02-09-2022, 10:37 PM
Closecall Closecall is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 67
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Understood. Thank you for the information.

By "If that SATA is SATA3, you can attempt to partition it..." do you mean using one SATA3 drive and partition it twice? So once for OS, and again for capture?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
02-09-2022, 11:07 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
Yes, correct.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #13  
02-10-2022, 11:52 AM
Closecall Closecall is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 67
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I came across an XP computer I can pick up that hits all the marks here but it is running a Quad Core i5. Are there any downsides to having a quad-core?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
02-10-2022, 12:19 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
Quad is fine. It'll get hotter, that's all. I watch for system heat. I forget where you are offhand, if a cooler climate.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #15  
02-10-2022, 12:35 PM
Closecall Closecall is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 67
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Oh yeah, cold winters, but humid summers. If needed I can always add a CPU cooler upgrade.
Ive built my fair share of pc's but as I am 30 I didn't get into building until post XP so its been a challenge to backtrack and figure out what can and cannot work in that era. The room where the process will take place is well air conditioned during summer to no more than 76 degrees and can always be adjusted.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
02-10-2022, 01:14 PM
BW37 BW37 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 181
Thanked 57 Times in 50 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Closecall View Post
Would a second SATA drive (external) work the same? We have a mini-desktop that can only hold 1 internal SATA drive.
AKIK, an external eSATA drive should work fine as the capture drive, but not an external USB drive, as LS has stated. Maybe there is already an eSATA port on the PC or maybe the motherboard has a spare SATA port (or a SATA/eSATA card can be added). Whether this could be done would depend on the design/features of the mini-PC.

BW
Reply With Quote
  #17  
02-10-2022, 01:23 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Closecall View Post
I can always add a CPU cooler
"Coolers' don't actually cool. The heat is just displaced. The room will stay hot. The only exception is water cooled, but even that isn't a fix-all to heat. Heat is hot, the end. The only way to avoid heat is to avoid the heat maker.

This won't affect your capturing directly, though it can affect the VCR heat, which can cause it to eat tapes. And make your capture life miserable and sweaty.

These days, my personal capturing is a winter/spring task, never summer, often not fall.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BW37 View Post
AKIK, an external eSATA drive should work fine as the capture drive
It fully depends on the chipset. Most motherboards SATA>eSATA are fine (mobo port, or bracket that converts motherboard SATA), most PCI/PCIe addon cards are not.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
vhs

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer Files from WinXP to Editing Machine VideoTechMan Computers 9 09-28-2019 06:11 PM
JVC HR-S8500 E - is this a good machine? Padawan Capture, Record, Transfer 2 10-05-2017 09:49 PM
VHS to .mkv/.avi/.mpg on Win7 Pro SP1 machine? newmy51 Project Planning, Workflows 3 04-16-2017 08:49 PM
Best machine for a UK user ct76 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 01-17-2013 05:14 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 PM