digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Capture, Record, Transfer (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/)
-   -   Mac Users: DV Capture issues after updating to Monterey? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/12515-mac-users-dv.html)

WaxEgger 02-09-2022 07:13 PM

Mac Users: DV Capture issues after updating to Monterey?

Just today I received my M1 iMac. Yes, yes, lordsmurf, I realize that you don't prefer Mac for capture.

I have been capturing with Mac for two years. Here is my usual hardware set-up:

- JVC HR-S7800U > s-video >
- Panasonic DMR-E55 > s-video >
- Roland Edirol VMC-1 TBC / DV capture device > mini dv to firewire 800 > thunderbolt 2 > thunderbolt 3 >
- Mac (recorded in Quicktime)

I've used a 2008 iMac, 2019 MacBook Pro, and a 2018 MacBook Pro. Most recently have been using the 2008 iMac for recording.

Not until today have I had an issue. My new computer will not acknowledge the VMC-1. While trying to work through it on the phone with Apple customer service, I tried plugging it back into my MacBook Pro (which I had also recently updated to Monterey OSX, as it had always worked with previous operating systems.) For the first time ever, the device did not read on the laptop. I tried it once again in the 2008 iMac, and it showed up instantly.

While poking around in internet forums, I find other users mentioning compatibility errors they are experiencing with firewire 800. I'm curious if any one you have had this or similar issues?

Does anyone have any advice for me? As I wait for a patch or solution from Apple, I can either downgrade my software, then manually install each piece of software again. I can keep capturing on a separate device (truly not ideal.) I can pick up a USB capture device.

Would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you! :smack:

WaxEgger 02-16-2022 11:28 AM