Quantcast Mitsubishi HS-HD2000U on screen display? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
03-29-2022, 11:56 AM
Closecall Closecall is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 67
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have noticed that the Mitsubishi HS-HD2000u throws up numbers and markers when starting play, stopping etc. and it is being recorded when i use VirtualDub. I have a tape that starts straight away and I want to try and capture the beginning without this display showing up on video. Suggestions?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-29-2022, 02:02 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,203
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
How about looking up the manual and see how you disable OSD. Pretty simple isn't it?

Look in the manual, and disable OSD.

Last edited by lordsmurf; 03-29-2022 at 04:33 PM. Reason: Be nice! Fixed it for you. -LS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-29-2022, 04:34 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
OSD sometimes called overlay, onscreen, display. I forget what this model uses.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-02-2022, 06:30 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
Look in the manual, and disable OSD.
It's actually impossible to disable the OSD for this VCR...

The usual workaround is to hit Play, then Rewind. The OSD doesn't pop up when exiting visual search. That's what I do for this and other models where the text can't be turned off. Attached video is an example.

MrMen-OSD.jpg
You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


Reply With Quote
The following users thank msgohan for this useful post: lollo2 (04-02-2022)
  #5  
04-02-2022, 06:57 AM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,428
Thanked 324 Times in 282 Posts
I don't know about your machine, but some remotes have an "Exit" key that will cut the on screen display short (before it naturally times out).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-02-2022, 09:05 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
I don't know about your machine, but some remotes have an "Exit" key that will cut the on screen display short (before it naturally times out).
There are Cancel and Enter keys by the numpad, but they don't affect the OSD. The Display button cycles through a few options, requiring 3 button presses before it makes the text disappear.

What does instantly cancel the OSD text is launching the menu screen. I tried hitting Play followed by quickly double-tapping Menu to enter and instantly exit it, and it does work, but getting the timing right is a little tricky.

An alternative is pre-loading the menu, hitting Play, and then exiting the menu immediately. So Menu-Play-Menu instead of Play-Menu-Menu.

(This has been an oddly amusing way to spend my Saturday morning.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
04-02-2022, 03:40 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,203
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
Usually high end VCR's that don't have OSD off option will have two outputs, one carries the OSD signal for hooking up to the TV and the other doesn't for hooking up to another recorder, Does it have a second output? If so have you tried it? If it doesn't or both have OSD signal I guess they just assume the VCR should be hooked up via firewire to ba able to have a video without OSD.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-02-2022, 11:26 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
Usually high end VCR's that don't have OSD off option will have two outputs, one carries the OSD signal for hooking up to the TV and the other doesn't for hooking up to another recorder
I'm familiar with the "Monitor" output concept on professional players, but are there high-end consumer models with the setup you describe?

This VCR can simultaneously output two S-Video and two composite signals. In the past I've captured all four outputs at the same time to test devices. There is no OSD-free option.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
04-02-2022, 11:45 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,203
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
I've seen two outputs with one being OSD free on consumer products, though I don't remember what product and if US or European.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
display, marker, mitsubishi, recording

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mitsubishi HS-HD2000U dim display? digicube Video Hardware Repair 0 10-21-2021 07:29 PM
Mitsubishi HS-HD2000U Top of Screen Has Colored Diagonal Lines invictus005 Capture, Record, Transfer 5 12-16-2019 12:08 AM
Mitsubishi HS-HD2000U micka22 Video Hardware Repair 2 06-24-2019 05:05 AM
Mitsubishi HS-HD2000U settings anyone? rocko Capture, Record, Transfer 6 02-08-2015 03:41 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM