Quantcast Red/green lines in s-video? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
04-17-2022, 10:27 AM
PeterVR PeterVR is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi everyone!

During my adventure in capturing many vhs tapes, I now got a new VCR: Sony SVO-5800P. There are many opinions about this vcr, but for me I am really happy with it. The picture quality is the best I have seen so far.

The component output doesn't work for me, but it doesn't matter. The S-video output is enough for me. Soon the only negative point surfaced. With many tapes I have vertical stripes in the picture. Not always. For example, not in black or other colors. But often in parts with a lot of color. Mainly red. What I see are red/green lines in the picture. This is not visible with the monitor/composite output, only with S-video output. The VCR has 2 S-video outputs and the picture (with the lines) is the same. Component output I could not see. I tried a BNC-tulip converter in between, but I get no picture.

Anyway, do these stripes look familiar to you? Do you know the cause and what it means?


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Schermafbeelding 2022-04-13 om 09.35.46.jpg (58.3 KB, 29 downloads)
File Type: png Schermafbeelding 2022-04-13 om 09.35.00.png (934.1 KB, 27 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-17-2022, 10:56 AM
lollo2 lollo2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 459
Thanked 123 Times in 106 Posts
PAL Hanover bars in 2nd picture???

A doc here: https://web.archive.org/web/20050528...oks/edecod.pdf

Possible fix ChromaDestripe in AviSynth.

A channel on S-VHS / VHS capture and AviSynth restoration https://bit.ly/3mHWbkN
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-17-2022, 12:39 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,430
Thanked 324 Times in 282 Posts
A nice image of Hanover bars.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hanover_bars
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-17-2022, 01:08 PM
traal traal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 249
Thanked 54 Times in 49 Posts
I had a similar issue, and an external TBC fixed it for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-20-2022, 03:14 AM
PeterVR PeterVR is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi everyone. Thank you for mentioning 'Hanover bars', because this looks like the issue. Using an external TBC doesnt get the lines out of the picture. Does this mean it's a fault within the machine? Is there something, maybe a setting or workaround, to get the lines out of the S-video output picture? I prefer a good capture above solving something with software. I am very upset about this problem because the SVO-5800P looked like the perfect machine for me with the best picture quality output (more details than my Fs200, JVC7600 and VR1100).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-22-2022, 05:54 PM
22west 22west is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Do you get these lines when you play this tape in one of your other decks - like say the 7600?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
04-23-2022, 02:15 AM
PeterVR PeterVR is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 22west View Post
Do you get these lines when you play this tape in one of your other decks - like say the 7600?
Nope So something looked wrongly set up in the Sony.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-23-2022, 04:33 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,380
Thanked 369 Times in 313 Posts
It's possible using composite ends up masking it error and it's still technically there, but hard to say. Usually combining the signals to composite in SVHS decks is done right before outputting so if there is an error that is truly only on s-video it would be very localized.

Does turning the TBC off (bypass) make any difference, and does setting EDIT to ON and CNR to OFF in the menus make any difference? That might give some idea where the problem would lie.

Afaik the component outputs in these Sonys require an add-on board, though if I remember correctly that board is just a s-video->component converter anyhow so it's not really worth it in this deck anyhow.

My Video gear overview/test/repair/stuff yt channel http://youtu.be/cEyfegqQ9TU
Reply With Quote
  #9  
06-06-2022, 06:40 AM
PeterVR PeterVR is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Update! Really weird, but after deinterlacing the lines are gone! I don't technically know how this could be, but it is the truth. I am really happy with this outcome.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
06-06-2022, 09:30 AM
lollo2 lollo2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 459
Thanked 123 Times in 106 Posts
Excellent. Why don't you post the video before, the script (or else) you used and the video after? It can help others

A channel on S-VHS / VHS capture and AviSynth restoration https://bit.ly/3mHWbkN
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lollo2 for this useful post: traal (06-06-2022)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange red&green lines in video captured with Grabster AV350 admpodg Capture, Record, Transfer 0 01-23-2021 08:36 AM
Camcorder capturing: aspect ratio, dropped frames, green lines? cicaesar Capture, Record, Transfer 12 05-03-2020 04:35 AM
Green garbage in captured video? plaxamate Capture, Record, Transfer 4 04-14-2018 01:25 PM
Severe horizontal red/green lines during parts of video Towncivilian Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 09-04-2016 03:04 AM
Barely noticable green lines in image....... MOTUfan Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 7 04-30-2007 06:52 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM