Quantcast Cannot install ATI MMC for AIW X1900? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
05-02-2022, 10:49 PM
Spenders_McGee Spenders_McGee is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello!

I have an AIW X1900 installed in an XP-based system. I wish to use the card for video capture, and I believe MMC is required for this, even if I use VirtualDub? Will happily be corrected if I am wrong.

I have successfully installed all required ATI software except MMC, which refuses to install. It gets through extracting the installation files, and then nothing happens. I've attempted to install multiple different versions of the program, from 9.13 to 9.16 (which I believe are the ones for use with this card), all of which fail. Or at least, the files labelled "ENU" fail; the files labelled "UCI" install just fine. I'm not sure what, if anything, I'm doing wrong. The card is not detected as a capture device in VirtualDub either, so if MMC is not required, there seems to be something I'm missing there too.

Any thoughts or advice are appreciated!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-02-2022, 11:14 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,907
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
x1900 card requires MMC 9.1.x, which lacks a dropped frame counter, so MMC isn't suggested for the PCIe cards. You need to use VirtualDub 1.9.x, and capture lossless.

The PCIe cards are worth less for MPEG capturing, and ATI MMC is mostly for MPEG capturing. (It can do AVI, but VirtualDub has less resource overhead.)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Spenders_McGee (05-03-2022)
  #3  
05-03-2022, 09:48 AM
Spenders_McGee Spenders_McGee is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Fair enough, I have a bit of previous experience with VirtualDub anyway, so that works out.

Is there anything in particular I should be doing to get VirtualDub to detect the card?


Wrote the above before remembering that I hadn't read the guide for capture in VirtualDub. Will see if I still require assistance after that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
05-04-2022, 07:27 AM
Spenders_McGee Spenders_McGee is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok, yeah, I'm at a bit of a loss. VirtualDub doesn't think that the AIW card exists, so can't use it. Is MMC required to be installed to perform any capture at all? If not, what should I do to ensure that VirtualDub detects the card?

Image attached for context.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg VDub.jpg (27.8 KB, 5 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-05-2022, 07:06 AM
enois enois is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 43
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
I not remember exactly which driver installed, but the following is the list of file that I used for capturing with VDub and ATI X1900 Pci-e.
Probably, for just VDub use, the two "legacy" driver will be enough.

/home/ina/Immagini/X1900 PCI-E/:
totale 237612
77472 10-2_legacy_xp32-64_dd_ccc.exe
21836 10-2_legacy_xp32-64_wdm.exe
11708 6-12_xcode_38463.exe
1828 6-6_encoder_33678.exe
27900 9-14_mmc_enu.exe
13752 9-14_mmc_euro1.exe
41936 9-14_mmc_uci.exe
27380 9-16_mmc_enu.exe
13800 9-16_mmc_euro1.exe
Reply With Quote
The following users thank enois for this useful post: Spenders_McGee (05-05-2022)
  #6  
05-11-2022, 03:54 PM
ST332 ST332 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hello. I have the same problem. Did you manage to solve it in the end?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
05-14-2022, 10:19 AM
Spenders_McGee Spenders_McGee is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST332 View Post
Hello. I have the same problem. Did you manage to solve it in the end?
Unfortunately, no. I already had all of the software installed that enois mentioned -- no dice.

The X1900 works fine as a display adapter, and as is in the screenshot, is detected perfectly well by Windows. But VirtualDub doesn't detect anything, and iuVCR and VirtualVCR outright say that I don't have a capture device installed, which is very confusing.

Any thoughts, members?

I'm also still bewildered that MMC just won't install at all. As LordSmurf suggested, I won't use it, but it seems very weird to me that it won't install when it should.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg device manager.jpg (24.2 KB, 5 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
05-17-2022, 03:36 AM
ST332 ST332 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I solved my problem, although not completely. I have two video cards installed, MSI 2070Super and ATI AIW x1900. In order for the t200 chip to appear in the device manager, I had to turn off the power from the MSI card so that it would not turn on when the computer started and its bios would not load. MMC installer must "see" the devid of t200 chip to work properly.

When I bought a pci-e card, I knew that there might be problems with the drivers, but I did not want to build another computer with an agp or pci slot. Damn, I never thought that I would spend more than a week just installing drivers
Reply With Quote
The following users thank ST332 for this useful post: Spenders_McGee (05-17-2022)
  #9  
05-17-2022, 03:43 AM
Spenders_McGee Spenders_McGee is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hm. This could very easily be my problem also, as I have a Quadro in the system as well. I am intending to build a system specifically for digitisation so I don't run into this issue, but I wanted to be able to digitise before I'm in a position to do that.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
05-17-2022, 06:07 AM
Spenders_McGee Spenders_McGee is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ST332's solution of removing the other video card almost completely worked for me. Or more accurately, worked more than anything else has.

MMC was able to install (not that I'll be using it, was just testing it), and Windows and VirtualDub both detect the T200 chipset. Yay!

However, despite uninstalling and reinstalling everything again, the T200 chipset doesn't work. Device manager lists it as failing to start, despite its driver being installed.

So once again (cue Bernie Sanders meme), I must ask for your support, as I've already followed everything that the rest of the internet has suggested for the new problem.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
05-23-2022, 03:02 AM
ST332 ST332 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
First of all. Windows XP x86. I have bsod on x64 after installing WDM driver.

All operations with one video card in mainboard: x1900

Install net framework and directx

There is the original x1900 CD with drivers in this forum, try to find it. It will install all what you need in the right order.
Or you can install the latest versions of software. Try to install it in this order:

77472 10-2_legacy_xp32-64_dd_ccc.exe
21836 10-2_legacy_xp32-64_wdm.exe
11708 6-12_xcode_38463.exe
1828 6-6_encoder_33678.exe
41936 9-14_mmc_uci.exe
27900 9-14_mmc_enu.exe
13752 9-14_mmc_euro1.exe
27380 9-16_mmc_enu.exe
13800 9-16_mmc_euro1.exe

Uninstall all drivers of T200 and x1900 before you try
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request for driver CD ATI AIW X1900 enois Capture, Record, Transfer 0 01-22-2022 06:55 AM
Is the ATI All In Wonder x1900 card as good as the x600? cybergtooth Capture, Record, Transfer 1 02-17-2015 07:35 AM
No TV signal under MMC 9.14 wit ATI AIW X1900 Mejnour Capture, Record, Transfer 13 02-12-2014 09:22 AM
Can AIW USB600 can interfere with AIW X1900 card Mejnour Capture, Record, Transfer 2 11-01-2013 02:24 PM
MMC capture settings for ATI x1900 PCI express? groovy Capture, Record, Transfer 7 05-03-2006 02:21 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM