05-21-2022, 12:46 PM
Free Member

Hello,

Lately, I have been interested in digitizing old VHS and VHS-C tapes. Since I am a complete beginner, I just figured I would buy an Elgato Video Capture USB dongle to do that. But I have stumbled upon reviews where users say that the audio in longer videos can be out of sync, which led me to more research, which led me here. So, I hope you can help me with a budget-friendly option that will help me capture the tapes. I'm not too worried about quality, average quality is OK for me, I'd just like for the video and audio to be in sync, of course. Even capturing a TV screen would work for me.

The VCR I own is Sony SLV-SE500 and the camcorder I have is Sony CCD-TR550E PAL (which worked 10 years ago but won't turn on now, I suspect the battery is dead and I will get a replacement battery).

I have also stumbled upon this video on youtube, "Transfer VHS And Camcorder Tapes With An Elgato HD Capture Card" (don't know if links are allowed). The man in the video uses an AV2HDMI upscaler, the old Elgato Game Capture HD, and of course an AV RCA cable and HDMI cable. He records in OBS. Would that be an OK setup for my needs? I have also read on this forum that a Time Base Corrector would be preferable to have, and I assume my devices don't have a TBC built in. If I used this setup, could you recommend me a DVD recorder that could work as a TBC passthrough, if that's possible? I would get a new VCR with TBC, but there are literally none offered where I'm from.

I am open to any recommendations for setups and for video card recommendations. The most I could spend at the moment is around 150€
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

05-22-2022, 03:15 PM
Free Member