Quantcast Transfering DV tapes with Pinnacle? - Page 3 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #41  
06-20-2022, 10:18 AM
Rookie20 Rookie20 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Sarnia, Ontario
Posts: 29
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hushpower I took a photo of the bottom of my pinnacle same rev 1, but obviously different serial numbers. I tried WinDV but got the dreaded Can't find DV output pin error. I did some reading and checked to see if I was missing the "ksthunk.sys" driver, but this driver was already installed. This is a pretty deep rabbit hole


Attached Images
File Type: jpg pinnacle.jpg (45.6 KB, 7 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #42  
06-20-2022, 11:57 AM
BW37 BW37 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 183
Thanked 57 Times in 50 Posts
If your PC has a free PCI slot you might try a PCI IEEE-1394a (Firewire) card. I've found the Dell/Adaptec LSI cards to be the easiest to implement in a Win 10 PC. I have not tried mine lately but the driver still shows up as installed and working in my current Win 10 version: 21H2.

Try this eBay search "Dell H924H Dual Port IEEE-1394 PCI". The cards are quite available and cheap.

Here are a couple posts I've participated in regarding these cards:

What Firewire PCIe card to get in 2020 for Windows 10?

Confused: best transfer from Hi8 to PC MP4?

Good Luck,
BW37
Reply With Quote
The following users thank BW37 for this useful post: Rookie20 (06-27-2022)
  #43  
06-21-2022, 10:33 PM
ferggue ferggue is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 14
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie20 View Post
Has anyone used a pinnacle 710 usb device to transfer DV tapes to a pc? If so what version of windows works the best. At This time I just want top transfer the files to a hard drive to protect from the tapes deteriorating.
Thanks
Glenn
I don't know how the pinnacle device you have works.
I work with a PCI Firewire card, I'm fine with it and the quality is perfect. You would only need a Firewire card, the firewire cable and a camcorder.
I use windows 10. For DV format I use sclive software and/or Adobe Premiere, for HDV format I use Adobe premiere because the HDVSplit soft has had results with corrupt files.
To compress the files to codec .H264 I use Adobe Encoder
Reply With Quote
The following users thank ferggue for this useful post: Rookie20 (06-27-2022)
  #44  
06-27-2022, 11:44 AM
Rookie20 Rookie20 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Sarnia, Ontario
Posts: 29
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks you BW37 and ferggue for your help. I did a search for Dell H924H Dual Port IEEE-1394 PCI cards and they are very reasonable. My graphics card failed in my old dell and is no longer being used so I believe I have space for PCI firewire card. I am still trying to get the pinnacle 710 usb device to work with either sclive or WinDV. I have done a lot of internet searching and reading but have not found a fix for either software. I am still hopeful in getting the pinnacle device to work, and then posting on this form the fix.
For Editing software I am using Power director 16, is Adobe Premiere available without a monthly charge?
Thank you
Glenn
Reply With Quote
  #45  
06-27-2022, 01:25 PM
RobustReviews RobustReviews is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: London - UK
Posts: 516
Thanked 81 Times in 71 Posts
I have had installed plenty of generic 'modern' IEEE-1394 cards without issue, although there's something that needs messing about with concerning forcing a legacy driver but that's what I have IT techs for. I don't think it's too tricky but it's a bit of a faff. They've not generated any issues once they're up and running as far as I'm aware but remember that's a sample of 1.

With regards to editing software, unless you go through the agony of purchasing Premiere (!) or lease it there's no free cut-down if that's what you're asking. For a lot of tasks, I'm certain any respected other option is fine, we only ran Adobe 'seats' because that's generally what staff had used in the industry (or at least were conversant in it) for editing and just kept it neat but personally I'm no Premiere fanboy. I am an After Effects Stan though, so they kinda go hand-in-glove.

It's probably overkill though if you're just after basic editing and grading.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Pinnacle USB-510 Denicio Marketplace 0 02-22-2022 01:50 PM
Transfering US VHS (NTSC) via PAL VCR to DV? MannyCalavera Project Planning, Workflows 2 06-16-2018 09:37 PM
Help with bright flash when transfering VHS to PC AshJT Capture, Record, Transfer 3 04-04-2015 09:22 AM
Transfering DVD LP to DVD SP Windsong404 Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 6 09-11-2011 02:50 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM