Quantcast Transfering DV tapes with Pinnacle? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
06-07-2022, 10:11 AM
Rookie20 Rookie20 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Sarnia, Ontario
Posts: 28
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Has anyone used a pinnacle 710 usb device to transfer DV tapes to a pc? If so what version of windows works the best. At This time I just want top transfer the files to a hard drive to protect from the tapes deteriorating.
Thanks
Glenn
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-07-2022, 03:28 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,197
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
I used the Pinnacle 500-USB under win 10 using the Pinnacle driver designed for Win 7, The driver emulated firewire over USB successfully and was able to control the camcorder functions as well. The software used is Sclive.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
The following users thank latreche34 for this useful post: Rookie20 (06-10-2022)
  #3  
06-07-2022, 10:42 PM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 374
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Quote:
Has anyone used a pinnacle 710 usb device to transfer DV tapes to a pc?
Yes. I used the 710-USB driver from the page linked-to by Latreche above. It works well using SCLive. WinDV does not work.

I'm on Windows 10, 21H2.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Hushpower for this useful post: Rookie20 (06-10-2022)
  #4  
06-08-2022, 02:49 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,197
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
One caution to add that there is a limitation with USB 2.0, Some people experienced signal dropouts due to the way USB transmits data vs firewire according to them. I haven't tried to experiment with this myself to confirm if the drop outs are tape related or port related, but I do know that I get more bandwidth with firewire compared to USB 2.0 even though theorically USB is 480Mbps vs 400Mbps for firewire.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-08-2022, 02:13 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,428
Thanked 324 Times in 282 Posts
USB ports connections may be shared internal to the PC, so there may be other devices that take USP port clock cycles; e.g., keyboard, mouse, storage, etc., so the actual sustained transfer rates may be substantially less than the 480. It will depend on how the PC in questions is configured.

A firewire port, while a lower number may realize a higher sustainable rate in a PC because the port is rarely shared with another device.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank dpalomaki for this useful post: Rookie20 (06-10-2022)
  #6  
06-09-2022, 12:11 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,197
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
Makes perfect sense.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-09-2022, 12:56 AM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 374
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
We need to remember that most newish systems have USB 3, and for old systems such as mine, it's easy to put in a USB 3 card.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
06-09-2022, 01:29 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,197
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
Jwillis wrote about a bug in certain versions of USB 3.0, The bug is a freeze or a disconnection if you plug in a USB 2.0 device into that version of USB 3.0 port, I do have a computer with that bug, Both the 500-USB in firewire mode and BrightEye 75 in control mode freeze on USB 3.0 port, Both devices are USB 2.0, I switch to the normal USB 2.0 and everything works fine, I think beginning with USB 3.1 everything is sorted out.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
  #9  
06-09-2022, 01:57 AM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 374
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
There's always something. So USB 2, in your experience, is fine. Good.

I have a PCIe USB 3.0 card in my machine and I have no problems with USB capture with any of my sticks, including my 710-USB in Firewire mode. I sometimes have issues in analogue video mode with the 710-USB but I'm pretty sure that is because of buggy drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
06-10-2022, 06:28 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
Can these Pinnacle USB<>IEEE1394 (Firewire) bridges work? Yes.
Is is guaranteed to work? No.

The issue here is the USB. Hubs tend to be awful, including cases ports, while direct motherboard is often best. But the quality of the motherboard, CPU, and USB chipset all matter.

WinDV works quite well. I recently set up a miniPC, Win10, with a 510, and WinDV works perfectly. (I used the system to recapture some personal family DV tapes as DV, after seeing some important footage while viewing the MPEG captures from my ATI AIW system.)

So everything you're seeing here (at least all posts above mine here) is correct, including the seemingly contradicting info. That's because "it depends" on many variables.

At this late date, I'm not convinced Firewire cards work all that well anymore, neither chipsets nor drivers. But it can work. Or not.

Are we having fun yet?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Rookie20 (06-10-2022)
  #11  
06-10-2022, 06:41 AM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,428
Thanked 324 Times in 282 Posts
One issue to keep in mind with IEEE1394 (aka: Firewire) cards is that with Win7 MS changed the drivers. The new drivers MicroSoft has provided and installed starting with Win7 may not work for transfer from some devices (Perhaps a subtle change that older gear did not recognize.). However, the so called "Legacy" driver would work.

The legacy driver was provided, but not installed, with Win7. For later versions of Windows it had to be D/L from MicroSoft. Also, it would not be unusual for a Windows update to reinstall the new driver.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
06-10-2022, 07:36 AM
Rookie20 Rookie20 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Sarnia, Ontario
Posts: 28
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you everyone for your help. I am using a old dell XPS 8500, built in 2013. Was windows 7, hard drive failed and computer repair shop installed windows 10. I assume the computer is using usb 2 ports due to its age.
As far as software it sounds like I should experiment with WinDV and SCLive. When reading the forms it appears that SClive has versions 3.5 and 4. Is there any difference between the two versions?

Glenn
Reply With Quote
  #13  
06-10-2022, 07:45 AM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,428
Thanked 324 Times in 282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rookie20 View Post
... I assume the computer is using usb 2 ports due to its age...
Check the owners guide, The specs I saw online indicate it supports both USB 2.0 and USB 3.0

For Win10 you need to D/L the legacy Firewire drivers (I used them from the Win8 support site.)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
06-10-2022, 09:23 AM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 374
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
EDITED: Disregard.

Install your Firewire drivers using this guide from Startech:
https://www.startech.com/en-us/faq/f...cy-driver-swap
WinDV has not been working here for some time, I suspect a Windows 10 update borked it.
Scenalyzer is your go-to for DV transfer/capture. Version 4 is the go. If you use the portable version ie don't choose to install it, you won't have to insert the unlock code (which you can get from their website in any case).
I have written a PDF guide for Scenalyzer. It's on Google Drive:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/158O...ew?usp=sharing

Last edited by lordsmurf; 06-15-2022 at 05:02 AM. Reason: By request. -LS
Reply With Quote
  #15  
06-14-2022, 06:05 PM
Rookie20 Rookie20 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Sarnia, Ontario
Posts: 28
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you again to all who responded to my post. Hushpower if I am using the pinnacle movie box plus do I need to down load the firewire device driver you recommended in the last message? I have purchased this device off eBay and I am waiting for it to be delivered. Reading the small print on the outside of the box it appears to be a pinnacle 710 usb device. latreche34, indicated I needed to download the pinnacle driver for windows 7, I assumed that this driver and SCLive 4 is what I need to transfer the DV tapes to my computer. Is this correct?
Thank you
Glenn
Reply With Quote
  #16  
06-14-2022, 07:23 PM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 374
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
EDITED: Disregard.

Glenn,
1. As far as Windows is concerned, the 710 is a DV camera, so you have to have the Windows Firewire system drivers installed from that Startech link:
https://www.startech.com/en-us/faq/f...cy-driver-swap
2. You'll also need the drivers for the 710. Use the Win 7, 64 bit driver:
http://cdn.pinnaclesys.com/SupportFi...readmeHW10.htm
3. Scenalyzer is used to transfer the video from the 710 aka "DV camera".

Last edited by lordsmurf; 06-15-2022 at 05:02 AM. Reason: By request. -LS
Reply With Quote
  #17  
06-14-2022, 08:43 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,428
Thanked 324 Times in 282 Posts
Given that the 710 is a USB 2.0 connection to the PC, are the IEEE1394/Firewire drivers really required on the PC? They would of course be required for an internal Firewire card.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
06-14-2022, 11:57 PM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 374
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Quote:
Given that the 710 is a USB 2.0 connection to the PC, are the IEEE1394/Firewire drivers really required on the PC?
Well I'll be stuffed, and I stand corrected. Firewire drivers are not required. I assumed...

I just installed the Pinnacle driver I linked-to above on a "virgin" Win 8.1 system and also a Win 10/64 laptop, plugged in the 710-USB and ran Scenalyzer and it worked like a charm. There is full camera control via the Scenalyzer control panel.

Lordsmurf, could you delete my two posts immediately above this one. I can no longer edit them.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
06-15-2022, 01:23 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,197
Thanked 377 Times in 346 Posts
Me too didn't have to install firewire drivers on Win 10, Pinnacle driver did take care of it all.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
06-17-2022, 11:01 PM
Rookie20 Rookie20 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Sarnia, Ontario
Posts: 28
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I received the pinnacle usb device today. I downloaded the pinnacle windows 7 driver and downloaded SCLive 4. I started SCLive 4 and selected the input button. Under setting's the pinnacle 710-usb hub appeared and I selected that. I plugged in the firewire cable (supplied by pinnacle) and turned on my video camera. I am getting an Error "Can't connect to capture-driver disconnect and reconnect firewire of camera". When I disconnect and connect it still does not work. I am using a JVC Gr-DV3000 camcorder. Any thoughts or suggestions

Glenn
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Pinnacle USB-510 Denicio Marketplace 0 02-22-2022 01:50 PM
Transfering US VHS (NTSC) via PAL VCR to DV? MannyCalavera Project Planning, Workflows 2 06-16-2018 09:37 PM
Help with bright flash when transfering VHS to PC AshJT Capture, Record, Transfer 3 04-04-2015 09:22 AM
Transfering DVD LP to DVD SP Windsong404 Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 6 09-11-2011 02:50 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM