Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
11-05-2009, 11:41 PM
Free Member

hello im a total noob to this so here goes,, i have searched the net but cant seem to find an exact answer ? i have a medion cam corder 80324 which has a built in digital signal processor i guess this means it will change to mpeg or similar file ?.. it has s video 4 pin port and also a av output with a scart that goes to tv . my problem is im trying to get from the tape to dvd using my computer , i have firewire ports included on my pc . can i buy such a lead that goes from svid to firwire or av to firewire ? would this work as the signal has been converted with the processor on the cam corder or am i thinkin wrong and can i even buy such a lead ?? or do i need to run the cam into something like moviebox dv or dazzle . please help thanks

i have looked into buying a dvd recorder and am aware of this option but i wanto be able to edit an author

This question was asked in a private message. Rather than hide our tech advice in private conversations, Site Staff will often answer PMs (from any site) here in the digitalFAQ.com forum, so that others may read and benefit from our expertise. Please continue the conversation here. Either login or join as a Free Member, and we can continue troubleshooting your video, photo or web related issue. Thanks for understanding our tech Q&A policies.

Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,458 Times in 2,090 Posts
You can play from the camera into a DVD recorder or any capture card. DV not required (and not suggested, to be honest).

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Free Member