digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Capture, Record, Transfer (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/)
-   -   VHS to DVD, Going crazy, running out of time (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/1857-vhs-dvd-crazy.html)

scameron 12-15-2009 05:51 AM

VHS to DVD, Going crazy, running out of time

so, i embarked on this adventure with the thought this would be an exceptional gift for my family members for Christmas. being that i am an engineer and like to "figure things" out, i thought why not try. well, i have read and read and read some more. now i don't know if i am confused or lost completely.

ok, my system is about 6 years old, but pretty good. (pent 4, 2.4 ghz, 1 GB memory). i bought a 1TB external hard drive USB. i have 14 VHS tapes i want to transfer. i have a decent VCR. i don't have the money for a TBC device. i wanted to use a capture card, don't have a clue what to buy. seems the USB capture devices suck a lot of power from the CPU. i know that external hard drive does. maybe i am looking at this in way too much depth. i just want to transfer uncompressed or lightly-compressed "lossless" AVI. i want to edit them later. budget is $100 to maybe $150. maybe that is unrealistic.

also, can i buy a firewire card for that hard drive?

admin 12-15-2009 06:18 AM

Yep, that's the thing with digital photo, web design and video. But as you're starting to figure out, mere knowledge of computers is not enough to truly master these visual arts, nor the voodoo-like tech that goes with it. (It works out the other way, too! All us long-time photo/design/video folks were forced to become computer techs!)

So let's see how I can help you out here...

The quality of your video starts with the VCR. So what is the brand/model of this decent VCR you have? Let's see if there is any room for improvement there.