01-11-2010, 10:49 AM
Free Member

Complete Newbie to VD. I just installed vs. 1.8.8 with filters (from Digital FAQ forum). I am able to open existing MPEG2 files (captured with MS Movie Maker &/or VideoStudio 11) but can't figure out how to get VD to capture using the same hardware &O/S.

When I start VD then click Capture AVI on main menu > it opens in Capture Mode, "connected to capture device Angel MPEG (Direct Show)" appears. On capture menu clicked Capture Video > popup says "set capture file" > main menu click set capture file > enter a file name > start camcorder playback > capture menu click Capture Video > popup says "Unable to start video capture". At this point, I'm totally lost.

O/S Win MCE (XP Pro) with all updates, Pentium 4 & 1GB RAM. Capture hardware is Angel MPEG Device (DirectShow). http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...8/EN/index.htm

What am I doing wrong & how can I fix it so VD will capture?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-11-2010, 12:20 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
It's always possible that this particular card cannot use VirtualDub for capturing. But I'll look into it further here later in the day (or night), and get back to you with what I'm able to find out.

This computer doesn't have a capture card in it, and the ones that do are busy at the moment. But going off memory, you may not be going through all the correct steps for setting up a capture. I can say that "start camcorder playback" is definitely not correct. There is a guide for it here at http://www.digitalfaq.com/guides/vid...virtualdub.htm -- although it need some updates (those will be happening in the near future, once the CMS is live).