Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-13-2010, 03:28 PM
Free Member

I am new at capturing VHS tapes through my computer to dvd's. I have bought several different devices. I have Pinnacle studio 500pci. + advc-55. as capturing devises. I do not use the Pinnacle software 10.8 software because of audio sync problems. I use ulead videostudio 11.5 plus to capture with. When I capture though the Advc-55 I have snow in the picture. When I capture using Pinnacle Studio 500 pci, there is no snow, but the picture isn't sharp. I am going to buy a All in wonder card. I was told that unlead is a low rate program. All I am doing is transferring vhs tapes to DVD no editing. What would be a good program that converts my video file to a high quality mpeg file for DVD burining? I use nero to burn my DVD's the program that came with ulead takes several hours to burn the DVD. Nero takes about 45 minutes. (Two hour tapes)
I am running a Dell 5000 AMD dual processor 2.6-sata 500 GB hard drive. I am running Visa. I also, a have a T.B.C. (1T-TBC) When I hook up the TBC, the picture gets snow in it. I have monster cables. I have a comsumers VCR. I payed about $80.00 for it new. I do have a Panasonic AG 1980 at the shop right now.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-14-2010, 09:52 AM
Site Staff | Web Development

When it comes to VHS conversion/restoration, I always make everybody back up as far as they can, to the tape itself. The first thing to check for is will be "is the tape okay". Can it be played in a VCR hooked up to a TV. If it looks good, then we proceed to the VCR.

You mention a Panasonic AG-1980P. This is an excellent VCR, especially if your tapes are SLP/EP mode homemade recordings (or even cheap retail SLP/EP mode recordings). As long as it's confirmed as working (the tape to TV test works here, too), then you're good to go.