Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
03-25-2010, 01:58 AM
Free Member

I'm in a pickle. I'm a film student at Columbia College Chicago and for aesthetic purposes, I've shot four hours of footage on a Sony VX1e PAL hi8 camcorder. Once captured, to avoid generation loss, I'll be exporting it through a circuit bent video mixer (to glitch the video) and reimporting it back into the computer.
The workflow is looking like this...

For Capture to negate generation loss:
Sony vx1e hi8 PAL -> ATI for huffyuv capture -> Final Cut for PAL 25p to NTSC 24p transfer

For Glitching after capture:
??? somehow I need to get the captured footage from the computer, feed it through a circuit bent video mixer, re-import the glitched footage back in through the ATI

For Exporting:
ATI -> Final Cut (to crop and zoom in to change 4:3 aspect ratio to 16:9) -> DVD for distribution

Within Final Cut, I will be cropping 25% of the vertical lines to fit the 16:9 aspect ratio. Also, I will be doing either a pulldown or 4% slow down to convert the PAL to 24p NTSC. Therefore, I need the huffyuv compression format to yield the most high quality resolution as I import, export, and reimport the already low-resolution hi8.

So, here's my questions...
I own an iMac, macbook pro, and a PC. Are there huffyuv format capture capabilities on the Mac? If not, will my low-end PC work with a huffyuv format capture card? I read you found a capture card for under $50, that sounds extremely reasonable!

Will the additional resolution through PAL help with the vertical resolution or will I lose it in the post 24p NTSC conversion?

Would inverse telecining help or hurt this process?

As far as in camera audio, is it possible to resync the 25p PAL audio to fit the new 24p NTSC format?

I'm really sorry for all the questions, you don't even have to answer all of them!!!
Anything helps, any advice at all, I'm flying blind.