Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
09-20-2010, 01:27 AM
Free Member

First, I'd like to thank the brilliant guys behind this site and how friendly they are, which is the main reason why I bought a membership. Now, on to my questions

I've already got a s-vhs player, but what I've been debating on is whether or not I should get a TBC and what kind of capture device I should use. For capture devices, I've been looking at the Canopus ADVC 110 for a while, but from browsing this forum, it seems Canopus is frowned upon for charging high dollar for getting little in return, while other reviews from other sites praise it. I've heard the ATI 600 usb be suggested a couple of times, and also the ATI aiw cards.

What I'm simply trying to do is capture some old VHS tapes of my dads from way back when and put them on DVD. I'm not a novice when it comes to video work, having been around the video cleaning scene for about 3 years. But I haven't dealt with the hardware side of things very much. I guess I really just don't know what capture device is worth my money, as I've also come across some ebay deals for the Hauppauge WinTV PVR 250 and PVR 500.

Now, for the TBC side of things. The videos I have for the most part really don't have bad jitter, and what little jitter there is, is mostly taken care of by my s-vhs player. (Which is a JVC BR-S800U, in case you wanted to know)
Now, hear me out, I've seen that you reccommend 2 TBC's, but I'd also just like to check my options/open up a little bit. Could you guys take a look at some of the TBC's I've found on eBay and tell me if I'm just barking mad for looking at them or if any of them actually hold value?

Link 1

Link 2

Link 3

Link 4

Link 5