Quantcast Proc amp. which one to chose ? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-20-2011, 09:20 PM
monks19 monks19 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 105
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Hi, i'm looking for a good afordable proc amp unit for analog to digital conversion. Any advice for a beginner will be appreciated.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-21-2011, 03:47 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,338
Thanked 616 Times in 448 Posts
The lowest cost proc amp, that still does a really nice job, is one of the older 1980s Vidicraft units. The only caveat is that these are mostly composite in/out devices, and not s-video. For some, that's really not an issue. The general advice is always "s-video is better than composite", but you have to work with the gear you can afford. So dropping down to composite connections may be the best solution.

You can find these easily in the $25-100 range, depending on condition, if it's been tested, if the seller knows what it is, etc. Your best bet for one of these is eBay. Maybe craigslist, but not likely.

This is assuming there's not one in the digitalFAQ.com Marketplace forum (and currently, there is not one for sale).

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-21-2011, 03:56 AM
monks19 monks19 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 105
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
ok, but the SignVideo and Elite Video ones, what do they have more except the s-video in/out ?

thanks to answer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-21-2011, 05:00 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,338
Thanked 616 Times in 448 Posts
The SignVideo proc amp has a meter on it. Some people like it. Personally, I don't care. I use my eyes and look at the TV and/or computer monitors -- not a meter. Meters are blind, whereas I am not. If color needs to be darker/lighter than the meter, in order to look good, then so be it.

And then s-video, yes. To me, that's worth having. Of course, my use is business, not personal. I'll find ways to allocate budget, and will later recoup costs with projects.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-23-2011, 12:17 AM
Steve(MS) Steve(MS) is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 126
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
I'm definitely not a pro like admin but I have both the elite and signvideo as well as a vidicraft and 2 others.

Here's what I notice as far as using composite vs S-video. With using S-video connectors, it seems to me to give much better control as far as correcting color, etc. Maybe there is too much blending going on with composite? But if the vidicraft is all you can afford, it can help where some corrections need to be made. The Elite has more control over colors, etc than the Signvideo IMO but the Signvideo is a good unit and would serve you well.

I had one tape that had horrible color smear and wrong color and the Elite was the only one that got it corrected to my satisfaction. Perhaps you can get by with a vidicraft if it needs minor to moderate correction. But I always run S-video if I possibly can since the overall quality of the transfer looks better, at least to me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-11-2012, 12:43 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,685
Thanked 1,867 Times in 1,616 Posts
The new conversation, unrelated to monks19's original question, has been moved to its own thread.
New thread here: Using proc amp to correct multiple scenes with different values ?

Thanks.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Certain proc-amp and exernal TBC, to restore video? lordsmurf Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 0 12-20-2010 12:55 PM
Proc Amps and Detailers PAL Compatible Juan-ito Capture, Record, Transfer 4 10-18-2010 11:57 PM
What is a *Dual* SignVideo Proc Amp? eclecticmn Capture, Record, Transfer 2 03-12-2010 08:04 PM
SignVideo PA-100 Proc Amp for sale [SOLD] robjv1 Marketplace 6 03-02-2010 07:06 PM
Proc Amp--Elite vs. Vidicraft captain70s Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 3 07-22-2005 10:55 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM