Quantcast ATI 600 USB video capture card drivers + Catalyst Media Center [DOWNLOAD] - Page 2 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #21  
07-18-2013, 04:06 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
Nope. That's the issue, unfortunately -- lack of TBC. It's a quality of signal issue. You need the TBC.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
07-18-2013, 04:16 PM
DeeSeven DeeSeven is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 185
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
ouch guess I'll be doing some homework then to grab the right one
Reply With Quote
  #23  
07-31-2013, 03:47 PM
MMM3 MMM3 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Is there any advantage in using virtualdub over the ati catalyst software?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
07-31-2013, 05:04 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,247
Thanked 354 Times in 332 Posts
ATI CMC = for MPEG only, NTSC only (USA, Canada, Japan, few others)
VirtualDub = for lossless/uncompressed AVI only, NTSC or PAL

That's the difference.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
08-07-2013, 08:45 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpmedia View Post
ATI CMC = for MPEG only, NTSC only (USA, Canada, Japan, few others)
VirtualDub = for lossless/uncompressed AVI only, NTSC or PAL

That's the difference.
I just got 600 USB stick. I was wondering if I can just install the drivers exclusively without any Catalyst software and use VirtualDub for capture? If so, how do I install the drivers without Catalyst?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
08-07-2013, 02:23 PM
DeeSeven DeeSeven is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 185
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by metaleonid View Post
I just got 600 USB stick. I was wondering if I can just install the drivers exclusively without any Catalyst software and use VirtualDub for capture? If so, how do I install the drivers without Catalyst?

I used these in this post

ATI 600 USB video capture card drivers + Catalyst Media Center [DOWNLOAD]

hope it helps
Reply With Quote
  #27  
08-07-2013, 04:06 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
Just refer to the first post here: ATI 600 USB video capture card drivers + Catalyst Media Center [DOWNLOAD]

Note the following text:
Quote:
And then separately install ATI Catalyst Media Center (ATI CMC) from Q:\Install\XP\CMC for ALL VERSIONS of Windows.
In other words, you don't have to install Catalyst Media Center (ATI CMC) unless you want to, for capturing NTSC MPEG.
You can certainly capture with VirtualDub, once the drivers are installed, to either NTSC or PAL AVI files.

Use Huffyuv.

I don't have ATI CMC installed on some computers here, either. We shuffle the cards to different systems as needed, and only two of them have ATI CMC installed. All of them have VirtaulDub, however. And all of them have the ATI 600 USB drivers installed.

Now go capture!

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
08-09-2013, 12:50 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
It's not working. I have both Lenovo laptop and MacBookPro with MacOs installed. In MacBookPro inside Mac OS I have Oracle VirtualBox which runs Windows XP. I installed the drivers for XP for both Lenovo and guest addition Widnows XP. When I start VirtualDub, Windows XP crashes on both Lenovo laptop and guest addition of VirtualBox. So something is wrong. I then downloaded VirtualVCR. VirtualVCR works on Lenovo laptop. It doesn't work on guest addition of VirtualBox' Windows XP. Any tips?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
08-09-2013, 01:02 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 206 Times in 189 Posts
i wouldnt bother with a virtual box and macs are horrid for video capture anyway.
pick up a cheap XP computer at a yard sale, the Craplist or at a thrift store and use it sole for capture.
find one with a AGP slot, a decent P4 or AMD and 2gb or so of ram.
do a fresh install of XP pro and you will be golden
this is older stuff and dirt cheap
i built a really nice capture PC for cheap money

i dont like using my main internet/gaming PC for captuing
Reply With Quote
  #30  
08-09-2013, 01:41 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
I actually do have old school XP PC which I built in 2000. 512MB RAM, AMD Athlon. It has SAA713x Philips based capture card. But I wanted to move away from PCs to laptops to save space and such.

The question I have is that is there anyone out there did actually use ATI USB 600 with VirtualDub?
Reply With Quote
  #31  
08-11-2013, 12:29 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,247
Thanked 354 Times in 332 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by metaleonid View Post
The question I have is that is there anyone out there did actually use ATI USB 600 with VirtualDub?
Yeah. One of our computers has a DataVideo TBC inside, a pair of JVC decks, and the ATI 600 card for capture.

It uses a set of studio speakers for audio preview, routed through a DataVideo VP-299 distribution amp. We can here the speakers and it can record audio without preview.

JVC VCR > via RCA > VP299 >
... > via RCA > ATI 600, no audio preview in VirtualDub
... > via RCA > RCA/mini crossover cable > speakers

Not having audio preview depends entirely on the audio card. Some have it, some don't. Soundblaster has "What U Hear". This computer is not to be used for capturing long term, hence not replacing the audio card, and only using the ATI 600 USB and not an internal ATI AIW (our card of choice).

It does an excellent job capturing Huffyuv.

Use VirtualDub v1.9, not 1.10.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
08-22-2013, 11:11 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
ATI USB 600 stick worked with VirtualDub 1.9 on my Lenovo laptop. I captured over an hour video from VHS to the external hard drive. Not a single frame drop. Moreover the image quality was a bit better than that from my FlyVideo LifeView 3000 card which equipped with Philips SAA713x chip. The image was slightly sharper.

There's no AGC. The gain is fixed. There was no blown up white smear at all. And in that sense it even outperformed my FlyVideo LifeView card (that has manual gain control) in some white areas.

I wish I could've gotten my hands on this stick earlier before I converted all my 20+ Hi8 tapes to Huffyuv using SAA713x equipped card. Because my Hi8 cassettes weren't XR, I will not be redoing it with ATI stick. Otherwise I would've reconsidered. Thank you guys.

By the way, please advise optimal settings on ATI USB stick proc amp. I set everything to default. Sharpness was +2. Is it correct setting?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
08-22-2013, 02:05 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 896
Thanked 202 Times in 176 Posts
As with most capture devices I've looked at, sharpness should be set to 0. This doesn't negatively impact the actual resolution captured by the ATI 600, and any higher values cause ringing.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
08-23-2013, 12:47 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
The ATI 600 has no AGC that I'm aware of. It capture whatever is input. As far as I know, most cards lack an AGC. And that's a good thing. It cards like the ATI 650 that have issues with luma flusing during recording, because if the AGC.

Yes, don't artificially sharpen the image. Leave it turned off (or 0 value). That true of all cards, and most VCRs. That was detailers are for, as they're way more accurate at creating false sharpness.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: metaleonid (08-23-2013)
  #35  
08-23-2013, 02:52 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
0 is the minimum value by the way. There's no negative value. So +2 is in the middle. So minimum value is going to be sharpness off, right?

By the way, I also want to try ATI PCI 550 for motion adaptive 3d comb filter. Is there AGC or is gain fixed?
And I also want to try ATI Theater HD 750 USB. Same question. Is there AGC or is gain fixed?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
08-25-2013, 05:27 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 896
Thanked 202 Times in 176 Posts
The 550 is a hardware MPEG-2 encoder, so I don't believe it works in VirtualDub.

The 750 USB has no 3D comb filter and has been reported to have AGC issues. The 750 PCIe is different hardware: 3D comb filter, and I still haven't seen anyone present evidence of an AGC issue. Of course that doesn't help you with a laptop.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank msgohan for this useful post: metaleonid (08-25-2013)
  #37  
09-26-2013, 09:40 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
The ATI 600 has no AGC that I'm aware of. It capture whatever is input. As far as I know, most cards lack an AGC. And that's a good thing. It cards like the ATI 650 that have issues with luma flusing during recording, because if the AGC.

Yes, don't artificially sharpen the image. Leave it turned off (or 0 value). That true of all cards, and most VCRs. That was detailers are for, as they're way more accurate at creating false sharpness.
Yes, 0 value for sharpness is verified to be optimal. It's the best. What about values for brightness, contrast, hue and tint? Should I set them in the middle? By default they are in the middle, except for Brightness which is at 111 out of 255. Should I set it to to 128 instead?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
09-27-2013, 12:16 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,368
Thanked 586 Times in 438 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by metaleonid View Post
Yes, 0 value for sharpness is verified to be optimal. It's the best. What about values for brightness, contrast, hue and tint? Should I set them in the middle? By default they are in the middle, except for Brightness which is at 111 out of 255. Should I set it to to 128 instead?
Yep!

Put them at the zero/parity value unless you notice a color shift when calibrating it on pro equipment. It sorts of reminds me of DSLRS, as many need slight tweaks green or magenta to fix either the preview screen or the CCD/CMOS sensor (or both). The key here is to ONLY do it with pro gear, however. You never want to adjust something like this using consumer equipment -- a non-IPS monitor or bradocast preview monitor, in this case -- as all you'd be doing is compensating for the output device. You'd actually be making the video worse otherwise!

I will say this: I don't know if the brightness value *is* the parity setting. Lots of things are measured weird. Let you eyes be the best judge. Change it, and then see if either luma value are crushed (too black) or blown out (too white/bright).

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: metaleonid (09-27-2013)
  #39  
09-27-2013, 12:43 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Well, I don't have a pro equipment so I won't be able to test. And also I wouldn't even know what values should be true.

Ok, what values do you set it too. You do have 600 USB, right? So tell me your values and I will copy.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
09-29-2013, 04:26 AM
LDinOR LDinOR is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thank you, thank you and thank you again. Finally got picture, only had sound. Nice work man.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank LDinOR for this useful post: lordsmurf (09-29-2013)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Matrox G400 Windows XP capture drivers [DOWNLOAD] lordsmurf Capture, Record, Transfer 12 08-14-2019 09:30 PM
ATI 650 USB video capture card drivers [DOWNLOAD] metaleonid Capture, Record, Transfer 3 07-05-2015 07:39 AM
Video capture project, what direction is best? + Proc amp vs TBC + Best capture card? admin Project Planning, Workflows 11 06-16-2011 09:35 AM
ATI All In Wonder video capture card, with capture computer, for sale [SOLD] kpmedia Marketplace 1 05-23-2011 02:09 PM
Quality of Media Center PC vs regular Digital TV...? musiclover7 Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 12 12-11-2009 02:04 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM