Quantcast Advice on capturing PAL & NTSC VHS tapes - Page 2 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #21  
09-04-2011, 11:06 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,337
Thanked 633 Times in 452 Posts
Thanks for posting that dad2. I've attached the PDF to your forum post directly.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
09-04-2011, 11:20 AM
dad2 dad2 is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Thank you for attaching the pdf, that was very fast!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
09-11-2011, 02:56 AM
Bilge Bilge is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the help guys, but I gave up and bought a Hauppauge WinTV 250 instead. I don't know what was wrong with the ATI card, but the 250 is working great.

I'm using WinTV v6 for capturing, does anybody know of any other software that would be better for this card?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
09-17-2011, 08:12 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilge View Post
Thanks for the help guys, but I gave up and bought a Hauppauge WinTV 250 instead.
Don't use Half D1 aka 352x480 or 352x576 -- it's really blurry on these Hauppauge 150, 250, 350 cards.
Not just slightly soft, but very soft. So soft as to earn the term "blurry". Stick to 720x480 / 720x576, if you can.

Quote:
I don't know what was wrong with the ATI card, but the 250 is working great.
Sounds like some of the hardware was faulty. Maybe not the card, but the other hard-to-find wires. There may have been counterfeit Chinese cables on the market at one time. That's happened with other product lines in the past. I've never seen fake ATI cables, but every now and again, I see something odd like this. More likely, it was just a bad cable (and authentic, not fake).

Quote:
I'm using WinTV v6 for capturing, does anybody know of any other software that would be better for this card? Thanks again.
No. You have to use WinTV for the best results. There were some "PVR" softwares out there, back in the day, but those were mostly for timeshifting/recording off TV -- not for transferring video tapes.

These are also hardware MPEG encoders, with no real option to capture AVI.

Good cards, but very narrow in their workflows. These were long regarded as a good second-place choice to ATI All In Wonder setups, once upon a time. These days, there are several newer alternatives, which can also work well under Windows Vista or Windows 7.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #25  
09-18-2011, 12:58 AM
Bilge Bilge is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for your help lordsmurf, I was disappointed that I couldn't get my ATI card to work in the end

Those hard to find cables were quite expensive so I figured rather than buy them again I could get a WinTV 250 for less money. Maybe one day i'll get the ATI card working...

Thanks for the help regarding the capture resolution, I was never quite sure what to use!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
11-11-2011, 08:38 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
@Bilge and others,
I've moved the SR-V10 NTSC capturing problems to its own thread here: Strange problems capturing from SR-V101 with PVR-250
The new posts are diverging a bit from this thread's original topic.

Thanks for understanding.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on VHS capturing tools? Simon76 Capture, Record, Transfer 1 02-12-2018 05:47 AM
JVC HR-S7100U VCR good for capturing VHS video tapes? lordsmurf Capture, Record, Transfer 1 08-19-2010 02:52 PM
Picture shifts to a dark grainy when capturing tapes lordsmurf Capture, Record, Transfer 0 06-20-2010 03:47 AM
Preserve VHS commercial tapes, need capturing advice RobertVHS Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 19 04-08-2010 04:33 PM
Good video program for capturing VHS tapes John Capture, Record, Transfer 13 03-25-2010 04:55 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM