Quantcast Using JVC 9600U, odd white line at top of screen - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-17-2011, 02:36 PM
retartedted retartedted is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
It hasn't always done this, but as of late there is a white line at the top of the screen. It happens whether I am playing a tape or not. It also is present when using either composite or SVHS cables.

Anyone ever ran into this before? Any clues as to what it might be?

Thanks!


Attached Images
File Type: jpg white line.jpg (33.0 KB, 16 downloads)
File Type: jpg white line2.jpg (26.8 KB, 14 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-17-2011, 07:45 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,701
Thanked 2,139 Times in 1,840 Posts
I've looked at this post a few times today, hesitating to reply with "I don't know" -- but that's all I can come up with, unfortunately. What is the full workflow of your hardware? Which model of VCR, TBC, other video hardware, and capture card or DVD recorder? The problem has to lie somewhere along that path. You've already eliminated the tape, seeing how it appears on the VCR blue screens.

I will say this, however: At least it's small and in the overscan. You can simply mask it. (In fact, you should be masking your overscans, as it just wastes bitrate, seeing how it's often just random noise off-screen.)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-17-2011, 08:09 PM
retartedted retartedted is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
First off, thanks for replying!

The workflow is pretty straight forward.

JVC HR-9600U -> SVHS cable -> Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1850

I have tested on my capture card with both composite and svhs output, same result. There is no TBC or anything else inline.

I have also tried plugging it into the TV and the white line is indeed just out of view in the overscan.

I have plugged other VCR's into the capture card and there are no white lines. So it appears to be the 9600 only.

It is just sort of frustrating when doing captures as I can see that there is some detail/image up there in the white.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-17-2011, 08:27 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,701
Thanked 2,139 Times in 1,840 Posts
Quote:
First off, thanks for replying!
No problem. Welcome to the site.

Quote:
I have also tried plugging it into the TV and the white line is indeed just out of view in the overscan.
Well, not necessarily --- that's a somewhat hasty conclusion. There's also the chance the computer or the capture card is causing the problem. In that scenario, you'd still not see the error, and you'd be eliminating the VCR and the cable as the culprit. It's too bad you don't have any full-frame viewer, like a another computer (with another capture card), or a full-frame broadcast monitor, as that would help the process of elimination for troubleshooting.

Quote:
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1850
I'd like to look further at this part of the equation. Specifically, the drivers in use, and the software being used.

What drivers are being used, and might Windows update have messed it up?
(Too many people let Windows Update run automatically, and it has a bad habit of screwing things up like this.)

What software?

Quote:
It hasn't always done this, but as of late
The one monkey wrench in all of this is this statement here. Something changed. It had to.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-17-2011, 08:47 PM
retartedted retartedted is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
What drivers are being used, and might Windows update have messed it up?
I have the most recent Hauppauge drivers installed. No funny business from Windows.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
What software?
I have used WinTV (included software), VirtualDub, and VirtualVCR. All same results.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
The one monkey wrench in all of this is this statement here. Something changed. It had to.
The odd thing is, when it first started to appear a couple of weeks ago, unplugging then plugging the power back in the VCR would sort it out.

I am really beginning to lean towards a fault on the unit itself, although I have never heard of a problem like this before. But I will keep digging. Not giving up yet

I may uninstall/re-install the card here in a few just to double check. Now that I think of it, I also have a DVD recorder boxed up somewhere in the basement that I can also dig out and see if the problem persists when plugged into that.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-17-2011, 09:01 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,701
Thanked 2,139 Times in 1,840 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by retartedted View Post
Now that I think of it, I also have a DVD recorder boxed up somewhere in the basement that I can also dig out and see if the problem persists when plugged into that.
There you go! Plug the VCR into the DVD recorder, then make a recording. Open the recorded/finalized DVD in VLC on the computer. See if the error is present there. If so, then swap out the cable and try again. If not, then the error is definitely the card/computer.

If it's determined the card/computer is at fault, go ahead and try your uninstall/reinstall. I'd go so far as to suggest older drivers be used, and not the current ones. Newer isn't always better. Often times, it's actually much worse -- especially on video cards, due to the draconian DRM/anti-copy issues that video companies must deal with. Those, of course, often lead to various errors, as anti-copy is a really sloppy video hack (analog or digital).

If the error still persists, try the card on another computer, to see if the computer itself may be the culprit. It could be a problem in the graphics card overlay, for all we know right now.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-19-2011, 04:54 PM
retartedted retartedted is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I am still getting the same white line on the DVD recorder. So it is definitely the JVC 9600.

What a shame, such a nice VCR

EDIT: to clarify, the video that was recorded straight from the JVC 9600 to the DVD recorder still had the white line on it. Completely bypassing the computer all together.

Last edited by retartedted; 09-19-2011 at 05:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-26-2012, 10:25 AM
retartedted retartedted is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 14
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Just a quick follow up...

After letting this deck sit for about 6 months, I fired it up and the white line is gone. I have gotten about a good 2+ hours of use out of it without the white line rearing its ugly head.

Very odd.

Now I am just curious as to what would have caused it? Power source (I have since purchased a different UPS)? EMI of some sort? I will probably never know but I imagine that it was something along those lines.

Again, thanks for your help lordsmurf!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank retartedted for this useful post: lordsmurf (04-01-2012)
  #9  
04-01-2012, 09:14 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,701
Thanked 2,139 Times in 1,840 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by retartedted View Post
Now I am just curious as to what would have caused it? Power source (I have since purchased a different UPS)? EMI of some sort? I will probably never know
All I can to that is this: Welcome to the world of video!

Easily one of the most frustrating lines of work there is.
Indeed, you may never know. Both of your guesses, however, and very educated (congrats!) and very likely.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Line noise, AVR, EMI/RFI Filters, Ground Loop Isolators. Confused Tuco Capture, Record, Transfer 1 04-28-2011 06:25 AM
Screen protectors for matte screen LCD on Macbook pro laptop? Sossity Computers 1 12-09-2010 07:01 PM
Online branding/identity - new domain/brand vs. new product line? kpmedia Web Design + Site Planning 2 09-03-2010 08:41 PM
Jittery horizontal line in middle of screen Kereellis Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 6 06-25-2010 05:32 PM
Dot-dash line removal manthing Edit Video, Audio 11 06-08-2006 10:42 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM