Quantcast Latest capture looks blurry from DVHS player - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
10-15-2011, 01:23 AM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 460
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
I Changed The "PLAY PERFECT TAPE" Settings on Mitsubishi DVHS HS-2000U- from "Auto" to "Normal" (Witch mans OFF?) and then out to AVtoolbox 8710, and then into ATI 9600 XT Capture (On WIN XP Macine),.....with MPEG- DVD Setting on MMC V8 xx... and NO Videosoap ,,But it looked worse than the Master VHS ,,,...I am on Vacation now,and will follow your guide on AVI Capture to see the results,if I get Lost,I will Send out a flair,and hope that DFAQ will guide me to the right direction!!!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-20-2011, 01:51 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,489
Thanked 1,832 Times in 1,584 Posts
Quote:
(Witch mans OFF?)
Normal probably means some part of the NR is off, yes.
It's been a while since I had this VCR to look at, and don't recall everything off-hand.

Quote:
But it looked worse
Need details. Worse in what way?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: rocko (10-21-2011)
  #3  
10-21-2011, 06:38 PM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 460
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
The 2nd test capture looked "soft", with NR set to NORMAL,compared to 1st test capture, with NR set to AUTO,which was probably a SHARP NR ??,But I liked the AUTO results better. I'm Still Fiddling Around with settings and getting used to everything,But so far no dropped frames!!and My new ATI/XP machine is working Fine!! Trying some AVI captures right now,which look AS GOOD AS THE Master VHS! (But with a pattern of Tight,Vertical, top to bottom wavy lines).I will send screen shot or sample.Could be Radio or Interference from my satellite box,HDTV,Or the fact that everything (including VCR) is plugged into a UPS Power supply???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
10-25-2011, 04:07 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,298
Thanked 366 Times in 338 Posts
Quote:
The 2nd test capture looked "soft", with NR set to NORMAL,compared to 1st test capture, with NR set to AUTO,which was probably a SHARP NR ??
Compare against "EDIT", if it has one. And SHARP.

Just be sure you're not confusing "noise" with "detail". In the photography and film world, grain often fakes detail. Human perception problems.
It's somewhat easy to exploit this psychovisual effect.

Quote:
Or the fact that everything (including VCR) is plugged into a UPS Power supply???
Very likely.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI All In Wonder video capture card, with capture computer, for sale [SOLD] kpmedia Marketplace 1 05-23-2011 02:09 PM
My inital obervations of the JVC SR-VD400US DVHS machine NJRoadfan Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 5 04-27-2011 08:12 AM
Advice on VHS capture setup (capture device, proc-amp, recommended connections) Simon76 Capture, Record, Transfer 12 12-23-2010 03:46 AM
Problems with blurry/ghost vhs clip recorded on DVD recorder MrSupergolfer Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 03-22-2010 07:52 PM
Why are all the latest posts by admin? admin General Discussion 0 12-25-2008 12:32 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM