digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Capture, Record, Transfer (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/)
-   -   Capturing screenshots from a VHS tape! (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/3889-capturing-screenshots-vhs.html)

123wc 01-31-2012 08:59 AM

Capturing screenshots from a VHS tape!

Hello,

My uncle, who doesn't know anything about computers or technology, has an old family VHS tape that he wants me to take a couple of screenshots from because he lost the photographs of that particular occasion. I can do this two ways:

1) Take a photograph of the TV screen. But being a photographer I know the resulting images will be horrible.

2) Convert the VHS tape to a digital file and take screenshots of the monitor screen.

So far I think I am going with the second method. So here are my questions:

1. How do I actually transfer the VHS tape to my PC? What hardware, wires, and software do I need? If there is a decent free software, I would prefer that of course.

2. Is there a step-by-step tutorial that shows me how to do this? I know there will be a lot of little things I need to know, such as what file formats to use, and many more little options I will probably need to select depending on the method I will follow and I am sure there are many different methods!

3. Will I actually get decent images from capturing a screenshot from the monitor? Are there specialized screen capturing software that do a good job at this kind of thing? Has anyone tried this and got decent results? (I mean, VHS tape quality is not that great on TV so I don’t know how good it will be after being transferred!)