Quantcast ATI All In Wonder Hacks, Drivers, Codecs and MMC - Page 2 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #21  
03-15-2011, 11:34 AM
mark21 mark21 is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
@admin: Thank you for the updates! I will try the ISO above on my AIW128-PCI as soon as possible.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
03-15-2011, 09:13 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark21 View Post
@admin: Thank you for the updates! I will try the ISO above on my AIW128-PCI as soon as possible.
The above ISO will probably NOT work on the older pre-Radeon ATI All In Wonder 128 PCI or 128 Pro AGP cards, as described earlier in this thread. You'll have to use the hack method for an ATI AIW 128 Pro AGP, to get it to use ATI MMC 8.7. The non-Pro ATI AIW 128 PCI is limited to ATI MMC 7.x series (I believe max allowed is 7.7, the final version from that edition.) Both of those cards are from 2000-2001.

The only PCI card that will work with the ISO files is the PCI edition of the ATI AIW 7500 Radeon card.

Keep that in mind.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
03-16-2011, 07:43 AM
mark21 mark21 is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
It is as you said: The ATI All-In-Wonder installation CD 180-V01084-100 does not work with AIW128-PCI cards, I tested it. The setup process just quits without any notice.

May I ask for a 8000 series ATI AIW Radeon AGP cards ISO image?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
03-16-2011, 08:01 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark21 View Post
May I ask for a 8000 series ATI AIW Radeon AGP cards ISO image?
There really wasn't an "8000 series" of cards. The only 8000 card -- an ATI AIW 8500 DV -- was essentially an ATI AIW 7500 with a "DV port" (IEEE1394 Firewire connection) added on. A poorly working Firewire port, I might add -- lots of issues with it, as compared to a plain Firewire card or motherboard-wired port. The same software applied to 7000-8000 cards. The 9000 card was the second model of ATI AIW Radeon.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
03-17-2011, 02:23 AM
mark21 mark21 is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
@admin: May I ask if you have an ISO that contains MMC 7.7 for my AIW128-PCI card ?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
03-20-2011, 04:29 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Here you go.

In order to install ATI MMC 7.7, I believe you first have to install ATI MMC 7.1 or 7.5. I've included both of those. The only difference between 7.1 and 7.5 is the DVD player, which may not be important. But, for the sake of archives, I've added it anyway.

What I don't have are ATI 128 non-Pro drivers. However, Windows XP should already have a driver for the graphics. And then some of the earlier multi-part installers should work for the capturing drivers and other non-MMC components.

Let me know how this works for you.

If you have any changes, please reply with those, to help others.


Attached Files
File Type: rar ATI MMC 7.1 Setup.rar (8.25 MB, 110 downloads)
File Type: rar ATI MMC 7.5 with DVD Setup.part1.rar (32.00 MB, 148 downloads)
File Type: rar ATI MMC 7.5 with DVD Setup.part2.rar (11.25 MB, 115 downloads)
File Type: rar ATI MMC 7.7 Update.rar (11.95 MB, 91 downloads)

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: mark21 (03-25-2011)
  #27  
03-25-2011, 04:58 AM
mark21 mark21 is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Thank you very much! I will try the files on my AIW128-PCI card as soon as possible.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
03-26-2011, 08:02 AM
mark21 mark21 is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
The MMC update doesn't work: Unfortunately "ATI MMC 7.7 Update.rar" needs an installed MMC 7.6.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
03-26-2011, 12:22 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Here, let's try this one instead.

I had to dig around for a while in old files until I located this. It didn't seem to be with all the other ATI MMC files, as it was supposed to. In fact, I found a bunch of really old ATI MMC version 6 installers! Now that's old. This particular ATI MMC v7 sub-version is just for the basic capturing (TV) and playback tools, and is noted as "noDVD" because it does not come with the DVD player software. I think that's what I was remembering -- you had to install the full with-DVD ATI MMC 7.5, then "upgrade" to ATI MMC 7.7 with the full file (not the 7.6 to 7.7 update I posted earlier), in order to keep DVD + the new ATI MMC 7.7. I would mention, however, that the ATI DVD player is rather crappy compared to what exists now. Even the freeware VLC is better, amongst others. It's no competition for the commercial WinDVD or PowerDVD. Just worry about getting the TV capture tool up and running.

Let me know how this one works for you.


Attached Files
File Type: rar ATI MMC 7.7 noDVD Setup.rar (17.17 MB, 129 downloads)

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
06-18-2011, 10:28 AM
JonMuss JonMuss is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi, I have the above card and after many years I have decided to re install it on a computer running XP Home.

I ahve followed all the install instructions but it seems that the Radeon AIW Digital driver is missing. Was this supported in later versions of MMC? I have version 9.16 installed. Have tried version 9.1 (on install cd) but this does not work either.

I am new to this board and hope that I have asked a question that is ok on this thread, sorry if not!
Reply With Quote
  #31  
06-18-2011, 10:45 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonMuss View Post
Hi, I have the above card
Which model do you have? What's the model number?

Quote:
I am new to this board
Welcome to the site.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
06-18-2011, 11:14 AM
JonMuss JonMuss is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for your interest! I have an ATI All in Wonder x1800 xl card. And when I try to use the tv tuner to tune in Digital channels there is no option to 'tune in' DVB-T channels just analogue.

In the ATI Multimedia Centre Configuration panel i have the option to select Radion AIW Digital as an input source along with the ATI AVStream Analogue source. If I ensure they are both in the 'Selected Input' column and exit the configuration panel and open the tv tuner in the Advanced settings under the Scan for channels option there is no Radion AIW Digital source option only Analogue.

If I select only the Radeon AIW Digital option in the Configuration menu and not the analogue source, close the panel down and try to start the tv tuner it will not let me as it says 'The tv player failed to initialize', then it suggests that i check that the correct video driver is installed, but there does not appear to be any drivers missing unless i need a driver!

Which Is why I am seeking help here.

Many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #33  
07-04-2011, 03:34 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,241
Thanked 354 Times in 332 Posts
Quote:
Thanks for your interest! I have an ATI All in Wonder x1800 xl card. And when I try to use the tv tuner to tune in Digital channels there is no option to 'tune in' DVB-T channels just analogue.
Most of the ATI All In Wonder cards only support the now-gone analog spectrum. Not DVB or ATSC "digital TV" that we have now. The cards are excellent for any analog recording needs (VHS to DVD, etc), but will not function in the workflow you're wanting --the workflow of capturing digital ATSC/DVB type video signals. You'll need a "PVR" style card for that functionality. Given that the x1800 was one of the final cards in the series (PCIe), and that you're in UK (DVB), maybe some of the very last cards had DVB functionality in Europe?

"The tv player failed to initialize" errors are almost always related to overlay mode on the video card. In some cases, it means the graphics drivers are not installed. In other cases, it's simply an issue of having conflicting software open. For example, video software players like VLC, or video editors like Womble MPEG-VCR, also use overlay. Be sure you're only running ATI MMC, and nothing else.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
08-13-2011, 07:31 PM
TIGR TIGR is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi folks, I'm brand new to the forums. Thank you for this resource and all the information you provide. I appreciate it and am considering becoming a premium member. Just wanted to share this excellent deal with you all.

Okay okay, in all seriousness, there are a bunch of AIW X800XLs for $36 with free shipping here. They are the PAL version. I have some questions about them:
  1. Does their being the PAL version have implications for analog NTSC capture?
  2. Could multiple cards be used in one system to capture from multiple video sources simultaneously? E.g. provided a system with 7 PCIe slots, could one capture from three different sources at the same time using three X800 XLs and three PCI Express sound cards?
  3. What other components (besides HDDs/data storage) in a system using these cards for analog video capture will affect video capture performance? Do the capture cards do all capture processing or is the system CPU used? What minimum CPU, data storage (e.g. HDD transfer speed and latency), and RAM specs would be recommended for capturing multiple audio and video streams simultaneously, if doing so is possible? I suppose this may depend on compression, hence the next question:
  4. What's the max resolution possible capturing compressed/uncompressed analog video with these cards (ignoring momentarily the question of what is really warranted by the quality of the source)?
  5. Is there a performance or quality difference capturing with different AIW model cards?
  6. Must one use Windows XP x86 or would XP x64 work for video capture with these cards?

I ask these questions for myself and for anyone else searching. In case it affects the answers, I am new to analog video capture and to start want to digitize a large number of VHS tapes with the best quality possible within reason. At my disposal are two systems endowed with 8GB/12GB of RAM, quad core i5 CPUs at 3.6GHz/3.8GHz, and RAID arrays of varying sizes that can handle around 500MBps read and write speeds. I can set up a separate rig running XP to dedicate to video capture. I am in the habit of working with uncompressed video to prevent generation loss.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
08-15-2011, 11:11 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Yikes! That's actually a wee bit pricey for an ATI AIW card these days, even if it is for the PCI express bus lines. In all honesty, the reason ATI cards were so pricey ($300+ new) was because of the graphics chips. As time presses on, the graphics chips become next to worthless, dropping the price down into the $75-100 range for a complete working All In Wonder card. The person asking $165 for a bare card is delusional.

... and I see that you already understand this. (That's what happens when you reply as you read posts!)

Those specific ATI AIW cards for $36 are incomplete. In other words, useless and worthless until you buy all the required wires. You need the purple input (or domino edition). You need the graphics output wire bundle (VGA). You'll also need the video output wire bundle (composite, s-video, audio loopback), which plugs into the graphics bundle. Without those items, you're pretty much screwed. Expect to pay about $15 each for those, if you can find them. So that $36 deal will be about $75-100 when you're done acquiring parts, and paying shipping.

Now, on to your questions...

1. PAL and NTSC refer only to the tuner. Analog tuners are mostly meaningless now anyway, in the era of digital television (DTV). The composite and s-video inputs on all ATI All In Wonder cards can capture both NTSC and PAL, as well as several other variants (PAL-60 or SECAM, for example).

2. One ATI All In Wonder graphics card per computer. If you want to capture from three sources at once, you'll need three computers. And because of how volatile capturing can be, you can't even KVM the systems. You'll often drop frames trying to KVM computers while they're in process of capturing.

3. To sum it all up: Yes. Everything has an affect or effect on capturing. You need a minimum of about 1.5Ghz, but you're not really safe until you get past 2.0Ghz (single core). If you're using a multi-core computer, refer to the individual core clock speed. A dual-core 1.7Ghz will be worse than a single-core at 2.0Ghz or 3.0Ghz. RAM isn't as big of an issue, so simply use what's needed to keep the system stable. Ideally, 1GB or more is suggested. Your hard drive needs to be 5400rpm or faster, and 7200rpm is suggested. Or faster. Don't use RAID -- it just complicates the issue.

4. Maximum resolution on an ATI All In Wonder card is 768x576, however that may be interpolated slightly. Native capturing chipset size is somewhere between 704x480 and 720x480. Or x576. They all varied a bit, and it's been far too long since I paid much attention to those exact measurements. It was generally accepted that 704x480 (Broadcast D1) and 704x576 were the true capture sizes of the card. Everything else is scaled. Note that this is one reason why 352x480 appeared so clean and sharp, being an exact half of 704. Compare this to many cards with a 720 or 768 native chip size, which often created slightly blurry 352 video (Hauppauge PVR cards, for example).

5. There are three basic levels of cards: Rage Theatre, Theatre 200, and Theatre 200 PCI-E. The original Rage Theatre chipset is fine, nothing wrong with it, a hardware-assisted MPEG encode. Theatre 200 added about 5% more hardware assist. And then the PCI-E versions of the cards also added pure hardware encoding for a few preset sizes/bitrates, though the "software" (hardware assisted) encoding is still suggested. Unless you're trying to nitpick for technical reasons, it's close enough to say that all cards behave the same.

6. You have to use Windows XP x86 (32-bit). No x64, no Vista, no Windows 7. If available, I suggest using Windows XP Pro SP2. Not SP1, not SP3. Not Home, not Media Center Edition (MCE). Windows XP Pro SP2 is the most stable version of Windows XP. (SP3 is also stable, but adds a bunch of online "security" crap that's not really essential to a system built for video capturing. You'll have to disable most of it, if you do use SP3. Otherwise it may tank a capture with silly warnings and nuisance pop-up alerts.)

Your system would probably work fine, without the RAID drives. The extra RAM would be wasted beyond 3GB (anywhere from 3.25GB to 3.75GB, depending on the BIOS). I'd seriously just build with 2GB, and call it good. Your proposed systems actually sounds more like a server hardware setup than it does a capture workstation. Don't make the mistake of simply trying to build a really powerful computer. Capturing doesn't really need lots of power -- it just needs the proper components. Save the powerful systems for video editing/encoding workstations, as that's where the power comes into play.

And one more thing ... welcome to the site.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: TIGR (08-15-2011)
  #36  
08-15-2011, 02:02 PM
dad2 dad2 is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
I bought one of the below from this seller, works great and comes complete with in/out cables and is exactly as advertised. That along with a Dell Dimension 4600 with XP a neighbour gave me has made quite a difference in capturing my VHS tapes (well, yes I'm still learning!)

Thank you El Smurf for the very easy to read tutorials for using the software which this card uses, both video and sound.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWNX:IT
Reply With Quote
The following users thank dad2 for this useful post: lordsmurf (08-20-2011)
  #37  
08-21-2011, 02:40 PM
dethalis dethalis is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
WOW you don't know how long i have been looking for The AIW 9600 Original Software CD...!!! this is great. Now will the later version of MMC like 9.15?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
08-27-2011, 09:35 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,367
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dethalis View Post
Now will the later version of MMC like 9.15?
I'm not sure I understand this question. Ideally, you want to use the lower version of ATI MMC possible (no lower than 8.7, no higher than 9.02) when using the AGP slot cards. For the latter PCI express slot cards, you don't really have a choice in the matter -- ATI MMC 9.1.x versions are pretty much required. For example, ATI MMC 9.16 for the x1800 card.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #39  
09-08-2011, 08:41 PM
interactive interactive is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
PC - Intel 478, 2.0 GHZ, 1 GB Ram, 40 GB HDD, AGP. (dell gx260 from my garage :-))

Replaced original FX 5200 with ATi AIW 9600 Pro, plugged in cables and purple box. Downloaded drivers from here.

Tried the (ISO first - 180_V01084_100) recommended for AIW 9600, installs but hangs on reboot(1 error on install ATI WDM Rage Theater Video, this device cannot start (code 10).

I had 32 bit XP SP3 done in the morning while waiting for the card to arrive in mail. but XP SP2 base image was readily available :-) expected the ride to be rough. So put the SP2 base Image on, reinstall. Hangs again. Restore the base image again this time installed the 611/8.7 in sequence recommended. (the 2nd task fails with inf error) continued install until the end. Ati bar showed up after boot (8.7 mmc). didnt see a capture option anywhere.

So right now its a mess, will reload image and see if I can figure out the issue. That iso CD which is recommended for 9600 cards may not be ideal for 9600 PRO or there is something in 32 bit XP SP2 which conflicts... or maybe the way I am setup (right now in textbook mode).

Open to try any ideas as reload from image is a 5 minute task.

Last edited by interactive; 09-08-2011 at 09:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
09-08-2011, 10:25 PM
interactive interactive is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
another attempt, just let XP sp2 install the drivers on auto.. virtual dub works but video is no where close to quality compared to any capture method used until now (worst). so MS drivers are probably crap.. I am capturing PAL_B via Panasonic NV_HS1000 and it does a whole lot better with 600pci i used a few days ago..
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 32/64-bit HuffYUV codecs concurrently in Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit vtak4 Edit Video, Audio 2 08-27-2011 07:29 PM
Pioneer DVR-103 / DVR-A03 firmware hacks [archived] lordsmurf Blank Media 1 02-16-2010 05:19 AM
Various ATI MMC registry hacks admin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 02-15-2005 09:23 AM
ATI MMC registry volume hacks admin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 02-15-2005 08:17 AM
What are the best codecs to install ? jrnyhead Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 1 04-28-2004 03:40 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM