Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
02-13-2012, 07:54 PM
Free Member

Hello everyone,

1st off, let me apologize in advance if this has been discussed before. But I have literally just signed after viewing the latest threads in the section and didn't find what I was looking for.

2ndly, I'm new to video restoration and I'm finding a solid workstation to be a bit of a struggle. I purchased a capture card from BlackMagicDesign and with a small amount of tapes, it doesn't drop any frames. But with about 95% of tapes, which are generally in poor condition.

After reading a few articles, it seems that the fix to my problem, (according to people I've discussed with but don't know their background) would be a pro deck in conjunction with a TBC.

What I'm asking I guess is what would your ultimate setup be? Or maybe what your setup be if you had about a $500 budget? All I want to do is take old tapes that are in reasonable condition, maybe do a little colour correction (I have Adobe Production Premium CS5) and then spit it out to a DVD.

Just for kicks a friend of mine lent me his "Dazzle" capture device (rca to usb) but it's not recognized in Premiere. I downloaded a trial version of the software that it was made for. On one side, it didn't drop a single frame which blew my mind (cuz I just spent over $200 on my BMD) but the quality was not very good - any opinions on that..?

Thanx in advance.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

02-13-2012, 10:34 PM
Free Member

Intel core i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07GHz
Quad-Core
12 Gb Ram
5 HD's (2 RAID 0 + System Drive)
ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series
Windows 7 64 bit
All drivers up to date

Adobe Production Premium CS5
all the latest updates are installed

BlackMagicDesign Intensity Pro
installed latest update
card stopped working
had to un-install then re-install
card works but drops many frames per second
02-20-2012, 09:23 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,461 Times in 2,093 Posts