Quantcast Made mistake while capturing video: Can two recordings be merged? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
04-17-2012, 10:54 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I was capturing about a 3 hr video, and I turned my monitor off while it was doing it and walked away for a few hours, and out of instinct i accidently turned my computer off (thinking i was turning it on) and there was 8 mins left on the video.

Am I going to have to recapture the whole video, or is there a way I can capture the last 8 mins and somehow merge the two captures into one in my DVD Workshop or another program?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-18-2012, 03:52 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,314
Thanked 370 Times in 339 Posts
It really depends on what capture hardware and software you were using. Sometimes you can salvage 90-95% of what you've captured, and other times the whole file is corrupt. If you're capturing to AVI in VirtualDub, and the system either crashes (or is turned off mid-capture), or the system halts because the drive fills up, then the whole file is trash. That happens to me once in a while, when I'm not paying attention to drive space available versus what's going to be needed for the capture. A few times, I fell asleep on the studio couch while capturing -- oops -- and woke up to an error message and hours of lost work.

MPEG files are a bit more resilient, and can be salvaged in Womble MPEG Video Wizard.

Never use Ulead DVD Workshop for editing video. This would count as editing. DVDWS is authorware only.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-19-2012, 02:42 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Thanks for the advice, I just went ahead and re-captured it. I've noticed on the last 2 DVDs that I've made, when I watch them, there's a group of like, whiteish lines at the bottom, and they last the entire DVD.

Why are they there & how can I fix that from happening again on future DVDs that I make?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-19-2012, 08:43 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,337
Thanked 633 Times in 452 Posts
Is it in the overscan? Read this: Errors on the edges of converted VHS tapes?
Sounds like standard tape head-switching noise.

It's not something that can really be "fixed" -- but it can be masked, if it's really necessary.
Note that you won't see head switching noise when viewed on a TV, although it can eat into your bitrate use.

I'd have to see an image, to give a better guess on what it is.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-19-2012, 10:04 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
yeah, actually it does look very similiar to the first picture...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-20-2012, 03:57 AM
jmac698 jmac698 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 387
Thanked 73 Times in 56 Posts
I was just reading about VCR's. That head switching noise is because the video heads are positioned to overlap in their reading. The switching is supposed to make the transition between heads smooth I guess. There's a standard for it, and we know it will occur 0-10 lines before vertical sync (that is, on the bottom of the screen). The standard is IEC756.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone knows if this a good VCR for video capturing?? Asesinato Capture, Record, Transfer 3 04-10-2012 12:55 PM
ION Video 2 PC: Would like better quality video recordings Kachi Capture, Record, Transfer 8 01-21-2012 09:35 PM
Verbatim Quality - Made in Taiwan vs. Made in India obsolete Blank Media 8 11-15-2010 01:03 AM
Removing broadcast hum from TV recordings? Reading Bug Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 5 08-19-2010 04:04 PM
Was RITEKG05 a mistake? admin Blank Media 0 01-16-2009 11:43 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM