Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
06-26-2012, 01:47 AM
Free Member

Hey almighty lordsmurf!

I'm a student about to digitize some VHS tapes for a found footage art project (not Paranormal Activity 4). I was checking to see if it was possible to simultaneously, all on the same computer...
  • capture two uncompressed video streams (using two Hauppage HVR-2250 capture cards)
  • capture two MPEG2 compressed video streams (using the same HVR-2250 MPEG2 hardware encoded cards)
  • burn previously created MPEG2 videos to DVD

....And, if it is possible, what are the ideal computer specs (ex. quad core, Windows 7 x64, etc.)?

So I don't sound too crazy, the two Hauppage HVR-2250 cards are MPEG2 hardware encoded and will lessen the CPU usage at least for the dual MPEG2 capture portion. What I'm worried about is using GraphEdit to reroute the uncompressed capture from the same cards while also burning DVDs– which I'm guessing is pushing the CPU usage through the roof.

I'm referencing these two forums/websites...
http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/3...is-it-possible
http://www.snapstream.com/Community/...sa/default.asp

-------
Also, if you don't mind me asking, have you ever tried to put together any found footage projects before? That kind of thing seems right up your alley with all your tape transfer experience. I bet you would make a killer project!

– Satisfied_Camel

This question was asked in a private message. Rather than hide our tech advice in private conversations, Site Staff will often answer PMs (from any site) here in the digitalFAQ.com forum, so that others may read and benefit from our expertise. Please continue the conversation here. Either login or join as a Free Member, and we can continue troubleshooting your video, photo or web related issue. Thanks for understanding our tech Q&A policies.

Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-26-2012, 02:04 AM
Site Staff | Video