Quantcast Looking for VHS with component for under $150 - Page 2 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #21  
08-06-2012, 04:40 PM
jmac698 jmac698 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 387
Thanked 73 Times in 56 Posts
Just for trivia, I did read that there were proprietary systems that used component on VHS, probably for scientific or surveillance use in previous decades. Also Betacam SP supposedly used some kind of interleaved component format. I've recreated the technique myself and it looks great!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
08-06-2012, 07:59 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,134
Thanked 350 Times in 287 Posts
The professional "VHS" equivalent to Betacam was Panasonic's "M" format, which used VHS shell tapes and recorded in a component format. They later updated it to "M II" with metal tapes to compete with Betacam SP. Both formats flopped. Sony might have lost the consumer market, but they managed to successfully out-market Panasonic in the professional VTR business.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
12-14-2012, 01:21 AM
Cyclone82 Cyclone82 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 58
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Many Panasonic combo units have component out and even HDMI out. I have one, but like the others said, theres probably not no advantage to playing a VHS through component.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
01-31-2013, 12:27 AM
JMP's Avatar
JMP JMP is offline
Former Site Staff | Computers
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 172
Thanked 22 Times in 15 Posts
Some interesting tidbits from jmac698 and NJRoadfan.

Like Cyclone82 said,
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclone82
Many Panasonic combo units have component out and even HDMI out. I have one, but like the others said, theres probably not no advantage to playing a VHS through component.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Check out my latest Editorial.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture card or DVD recorder with component inputs ? volksjager Capture, Record, Transfer 18 07-19-2012 03:01 AM
Is it possible to capture component video signal Mejnour Capture, Record, Transfer 5 01-24-2012 07:27 PM
A good switch box to add component/HDMI connections to an HDTV ? dmsinger Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 2 09-04-2006 11:20 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM