Quantcast My Custom Hardware TBC - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
08-16-2012, 05:04 PM
jmac698 jmac698 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 387
Thanked 73 Times in 56 Posts
The first decode. No TBC applied, obviously, but just good enough to see that the hardware is working.

http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/140857

Yep, looks horrible. So why is this big news? It means I can finally access the raw signal, in real-time with hardware. I'm using an ARM-based embedded 32bit cpu. It can be programmed in C to decode the video. The sample rate can go up to 144MS/s, way more than enough for HD video. I can also input s-video. However I'm having some bandwidth problems.

For now I can do a type of hardware assisted software TBC, meaning that I can record/embed the sync information so that a software decoder can use it to resize.

I'd like to try raw decoding the VHS direct from the video heads; first I need a good video amplifier, but it can be easily decoded.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-17-2012, 12:56 PM
jmac698 jmac698 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 387
Thanked 73 Times in 56 Posts
Here's what the hsync looks like: http://desmond.imageshack.us/Himg59/...pg&res=landing

Not too bad. I need a tape with a major flagging issue to test.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg hsyncfromvhs.jpg (18.1 KB, 12 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-14-2012, 12:02 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,706
Thanked 2,139 Times in 1,840 Posts
Please attach images to posts: How to Properly Upload Images and Attach Files to This Site

Keep us updated on your projects. I read everything you post here on this forum.


This was an unanswered question or unresolved issue found during a site audit. It's hard to have an FAQ when the answers are missing, or final outcomes are unknown. At The Digital FAQ support forum, questions are never intentionally ignored, and may have been missed due to a forum glitch or human error. More details on the audit. (In some cases, threads have been edited/updated with newer information.)


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-16-2012, 08:29 AM
juhok juhok is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 379
Thanked 105 Times in 87 Posts
Slightly related. Looking at HSYNC with Barco video monitor.

edit: I noticed that "plain" analog HSYNC from VHS is a bit more plain than this SDI-passthru if anyone was wondering what all that fuzz was about.

DSC_6481.png



Last edited by juhok; 09-16-2012 at 09:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make custom analog sync signals jmac698 Capture, Record, Transfer 2 08-06-2012 04:42 PM
What Mac & PC programs make custom greeting cards ? Sossity Web Design + Site Planning 3 01-01-2011 11:58 PM
Can I Make Custom Buttons With TDA?? Konfusion Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 9 07-09-2007 11:08 PM
Website with custom DVD covers? angelofanimes Project Planning, Workflows 4 01-23-2007 01:46 AM
Custom Thumbnails in TDA - Tutorial allaboutduncan Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 8 09-30-2005 12:15 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM