Quantcast Philips DVDR3400 LSI chipset - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
08-20-2012, 05:57 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,024
Thanked 211 Times in 190 Posts
i got this philips dvdr3400/37 basically as a throw in with a JVC SVHS vcr i bought.

it is in real good shape with remote and barely used
i popped the cover off and it does have the LSI Logic chip.

i know some other Phillips unit are crappy - even the LSI ones
has anyone tryed one of these units and it is any good?
this unit was built in 2006 and even has an HDMI output
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-20-2012, 07:25 PM
dyfan dyfan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by volksjager View Post
...i popped the cover off and it does have the LSI Logic chip...
Really? How are you able to tell by merely looking at its internals?
The manufacturer's link in this legacy post is password-protected... LSI chipset (DVD recorders) gallery
Reply With Quote
  #3  
08-20-2012, 07:35 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,024
Thanked 211 Times in 190 Posts
would you like a picture:

Reply With Quote
  #4  
08-20-2012, 07:38 PM
dyfan dyfan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Hot Dog!!
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
08-26-2012, 07:06 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,668
Thanked 1,864 Times in 1,613 Posts
Some of those Philips models were dreadful. The big problem was forcing 720x480 when video needed to be 352x480. So the machine was only good for XP mode, and not much else.

I tried most LSI Logic chipset models when they were still new, from 2004 to 2006. I use to interact with several magazine writers in UK and USA, and took part in tests several times. I imported PAL machines, as well as used the weird off-brand units available in NTSC. The only ones I chose to keep long-term were the LiteOn and JVC. Eventually I sold off the LiteOn, too, and kept only the JVC as the best of the best.

The Zenith units were probably a close second to the JVC, but suffered from secondary issues (I forget what at this point in time) and were harder to find. The Apex units were as good as the JVC, encoding/image-wise, but had exploding power supplies, and an IRE switching error, making then unusable.

My mom has an LSI Samsung. It's okay, but lacks an FR or 3-hour mode -- pick from 1,2,4 hours, and that's it. The biggest issue with non-JVC LSI models was poor usage. Lacking 3-hour or FR made the unit encode in already-lousy bitrate/resolutions ratios. So while it removed chroma noise, it still suffered from artifacts and grain noise on anything other than 1-hour "XP" mode.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LSI chipset (DVD recorders) gallery admin Capture, Record, Transfer 6 07-04-2019 08:14 AM
LSI chipset onboard Toshiba combo variants? dyfan Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 09-14-2012 12:06 PM
LSI Logic DMN-8602 chipset for DVD recorder [WHITE PAPER] Giana Video Hardware Repair 8 03-24-2012 05:46 AM
Capture card alternatives to the Philips SAA7134 chipset cards ? metaleonid Capture, Record, Transfer 6 12-07-2011 09:41 AM
ATI chips: Difference between Theatre 100 and 200 chipset? Sujit Capture, Record, Transfer 3 05-06-2005 09:05 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM