Quantcast Having some trouble... - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
06-05-2005, 04:31 AM
Daniel Daniel is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA.
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am currently using a DVD Recorder and using DVD-Ram. I import the video from these discs into my computer using Ulead DVD Moviefactory 3 Disc Creator. This converts the file into mpeg format and then I can burn them to a disc. Recently, it has been saying, "An error occured while importing." Do you have any recomendations on what program(s) to use to import DVD-Ram video?

Thank you for your time.

Daniel
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-05-2005, 04:43 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,494
Thanked 1,836 Times in 1,586 Posts
You let it "convert" the file? That's not good at all.

The VRO files on DVD-RAM are already MPEG files. Just copy them to the hard drive in Windows, and then rename them from .VRO to .MPG.

You can then use any number of MPEG editing programs to edit. Womble MPEG VCR, Womble MPEG Video Wizard, VideoRedo, even the MPEG tools inside TMPGEnc.

Try that.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-05-2005, 05:29 AM
Daniel Daniel is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA.
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
When I try to copy them to the hard drive it says this: Error Copying File or Folder: Cannot Copy VR_Movieata Error (cyclic redundancy check)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-05-2005, 06:46 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,494
Thanked 1,836 Times in 1,586 Posts
Your disc may simply be bad, or the drive is having a hard time reading it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-05-2005, 09:33 AM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Does this happen with all your discs or just the one? If it is happening with all the discs you might need to take the unit back and get a replacement
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-05-2005, 12:45 PM
Daniel Daniel is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA.
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It happens occasionaly, once every three times. It gets annoying. I don't think I can take it back since I cut out the UPC for the rebate.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-05-2005, 04:41 PM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
"cyclic redundancy check" that usually means the drive cannot read it due to it either being a bad burn or just a not so good disc, but often I have seen the dvd reader be just as much at fault

Since you cannot take it back I guess the only 2 options are to either get a new brand of DVD-RAM and see if they do the same thing or get a new DVD-ROM like a Liteon or BTC and see if it was just the reader

Probably getting a new DVD-ROM would be cheaper because then if it did not work and you still got "cyclic redundancy check" you could take it back and then you would know to just switch disc brands/kinds
Reply With Quote
  #8  
06-05-2005, 10:00 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,494
Thanked 1,836 Times in 1,586 Posts
For RAM disc, you need an LG or a newer Pioneer burner. Few things read RAM. Not to mention VRO format is crap, and RAM is crap. I don't know why anybody wastes their time on these machines, they do not make 100% compliant DVD-Video spec discs.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
06-06-2005, 09:12 AM
Daniel Daniel is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA.
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I personally like Ram because you can edit anything on the disc. My burner requires you to finalize a -RW disc which is pure nonsense. You can't you it again after that. Ram allows you to use it again and again. Today I bought a few different types of Ram discs and I will try them out. I have a Pioneer burner.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
06-06-2005, 10:25 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,494
Thanked 1,836 Times in 1,586 Posts
You can erase a RW disc and use it again.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with v1900 AIW, ATI shut itself down? Tom_n_Jonna Capture, Record, Transfer 2 06-21-2007 08:51 PM
Question concerning tv problem trouble shooting stoogedog Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 2 08-03-2006 03:20 PM
Trouble with TBC...HELP! Tom_n_Jonna Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 3 01-21-2006 12:39 AM
Having login trouble? (IE5,IE6) Here’s the fix... admin General Discussion 0 04-19-2004 03:32 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM