Quantcast Magnavox H2160MW9 record error - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-26-2012, 01:37 PM
slsdoug slsdoug is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Using a new Memorex DVD+RW, I tried transferring a few hours of HDD recording to the DVD. Got a DVD E13 error.
I formatted my DVD+RW using ImgBurn (per another thread) and it formatted fine. I put the DVD+RW into the H2150MW9 and dubbing was grayed out. I erased the DVD then dubbing showed up. I tried to save a few hours recordings to the DVD but a write error, E1900000000, occurred. Can not write to DVD error. The DVD+RW was just bought (Memorex). I have had the same problem with Sony and Verbatim DVD+RW. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-26-2012, 06:03 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,314
Thanked 370 Times in 339 Posts
This sounds like an aged or dying burner inside the recorder.

When a burner is going out:
  1. First, the DVD-RW, DVD+RW and DVD-RAM read/write ability goes.
  2. Second, the DVD-R and DVD+R read/write ability goes.
  3. Third, the DVD-ROM ability goes. (DVD-ROM = pressed, commercial, retail, "store-bought" type discs.)
My suggestion would be to try a Verbatim DVD+R disc, not DVD+RW, and see what happens.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-28-2012, 12:44 PM
slsdoug slsdoug is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I tried a Philips DVD+R and it worked, though it cut off at 18 titles.

-- merged --

The problem seems (I never commit) to be fixed. So far, all the DVD+RW that failed before are working.
We had well over 300 titles and the HDD was within an hour of being full. DVD+R worked so I moved 18 titles at a time (that's the limit) and also purged/watched many old titles; some dating back to 2009. After doing this (down to 270 titles and over 30 hours availability) all of a sudden the DVD+RWs started working. When they are put in the drive, they format instead of load. It seems the 2160A recognizes the DVD+RW needs formatting and does it. Manual format did not work. Some limit must have been exceeded (titles? availability?) and now it ok.

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-30-2012, 10:31 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,711
Thanked 2,140 Times in 1,841 Posts
Hmmm..... how long was it running when it stopped?
The DVD drive may have overheated if you had been playing/burning for hours.

Do note that overheating often causes permanent damage, so be careful of overusing optical media hardware.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-30-2012, 04:20 PM
slsdoug slsdoug is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DVD+RW not working was for several weeks. We tried a few different brands, formatted them on a PC, etc, nothing worked until we removed a bunch of titles and freed up some disk space.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-30-2012, 07:32 PM
Steve(MS) Steve(MS) is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 126
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Perhaps making discs in real time requires extra space on hard drive?
I dunno, got the same model and it has served me well for several years and I haven't had any problems with it.
I almost always do burns in 4X....whatever it is called.
There is a forum that supposedly tells how to replace hard drive and/or burner on that model.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
10-10-2012, 01:30 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,337
Thanked 631 Times in 452 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve(MS) View Post
Perhaps making discs in real time requires extra space on hard drive?
This is actually very likely.

The data on the hard drive is not necessarily burn-ready. It may need some amount of temp/swap space to re-organize or reformat the data into disc-ready content for burning. If there's not any open hard drive space, then you'll run into errors. I've seen something similar on RCA DRC-8030N DVD recorders, where filling up the hard drive would corrupt some of the recordings. It was likely related to fragmentation on the drive, combined with a lack of free space for temp use.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: redbolter (02-16-2016)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magnavox H2160MW9 any good? lordsmurf Capture, Record, Transfer 12 04-02-2010 01:23 AM
Magnavox H2160MW9 overscan ieee488 Capture, Record, Transfer 19 03-16-2010 07:49 AM
Magnavox H2160MW9 not recognizing any DVD-RW discs ieee488 Capture, Record, Transfer 4 12-14-2009 10:17 PM
Magnavox H2160MW9 -VR mode only ?!?! ieee488 Capture, Record, Transfer 10 11-01-2009 07:01 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM