Quantcast JVC GF S1000HU S/M and cables - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
10-06-2012, 09:32 AM
Jpass992 Jpass992 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 126
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
I want to work on converting some old family tapes on SVHS and I still have the original camcorder. However, I have a few questions. First of all, does anyone have the service manual for this camcorder? I can't seem to find the audio oiutput cables for it, and I was wondering if someone had the P/N for it. I've checked both in the manual for the camcorder and the JVC site, and I haven't found it at all. Also, before I do this, just out of curiousity, if one still have the original camcorder for their tapes, is it best to convert it using that camcorder?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-06-2012, 11:55 AM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,134
Thanked 350 Times in 287 Posts
Does it have a round DIN style connector for the A/V out? I always thought those were kinda standard. That camcorder is OLD, one of the first SVHS models. I'd try the tapes in a modern JVC first, SP camcorder recordings usually track without a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-06-2012, 12:26 PM
juhok juhok is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 379
Thanked 105 Times in 87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpass992 View Post
Also, before I do this, just out of curiousity, if one still have the original camcorder for their tapes, is it best to convert it using that camcorder?
This is a myth (there are exceptions, like f--ed up tracking or some such, but in general - a myth).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
10-06-2012, 03:22 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,026
Thanked 211 Times in 190 Posts
why even use a camcorder at all??

ditch the relic cam and get an Panny AG-1970 or AG-1980 and a JVC VHS-C adapter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
10-06-2012, 06:16 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,134
Thanked 350 Times in 287 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by volksjager View Post
why even use a camcorder at all?? ditch the relic cam and get an Panny AG-1970 or AG-1980 and a JVC VHS-C adapter
Its a full size tape camcorder, no adapters needed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
10-06-2012, 06:29 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,026
Thanked 211 Times in 190 Posts
thats more reason not to use the cam
that means you can use a 7000 or 9000 series JVC...even better
Reply With Quote
  #7  
10-10-2012, 01:20 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,337
Thanked 631 Times in 452 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by juhok View Post
This is a myth (there are exceptions, like f--ed up tracking or some such, but in general - a myth).
Just to confirm: This is a myth.

Better video playback hardware easily outperforms original consumer equipment, even when it was new an in peak performance.
These days, you're probably looking at some old techno-monster more liable to eat your tapes that play them.

The only time an "original" recorder looks best is when it was misaligned. The tapes therefore don't play well anywhere else. In those cases, either use the original machine -- hoping it wasn't later fixed, or didn't go further out of alignment specs. Or you have to misalign/"break" a camera or VCR to match the screwed-up tapes. That isn't a fun process, and takes a lot of experimentation and patience.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
10-10-2012, 04:13 PM
Jpass992 Jpass992 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 126
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Yes, it does use these kind of pin connectors. I'll be honest.... I've gone through alot of JVC machines. The newer ones you describe I'm not the biggest fan of. I have the JVC SR V101US and sometimes I hear a hiss in the audio that I don't here in my older machines aka JVC HR S6900U, JVC HR S8000U. Also, as I recall, the build of the later machines is inferior to that of the older machines. Also, I do have a Panasonic AG 5710, which is a AG 1980 clone. Believe it or not, the camcorder has never been broken. Used by my Dad from 1989 (I think) up until 2001. Belive it or no, the thing has never broken down, so its never been aligned. (now keeping my fingers crossed it doesn't break cause I said that ) Anyway, anybody got a clue where I could find these cables?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
10-10-2012, 04:36 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,026
Thanked 211 Times in 190 Posts
the SR-V101US is kinda crappy - the last of the line and they really cheaped out.
try a 7600 ,9600 or 9800

the AG-5710 is great if it doesnt have cap issues

i wouldnt even consider using that old cam
Reply With Quote
  #10  
10-10-2012, 05:28 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,134
Thanked 350 Times in 287 Posts
According to the photos I have found of that camcorder, it featured Hi-Fi audio which can have tracking issues. Have you tried switching to the linear track? The Hi-Fi track should have no hiss if tracking properly, the noise levels should be much lower then the linear track.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
10-10-2012, 05:50 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,337
Thanked 631 Times in 452 Posts
You may have to capture audio on one VCR in one pass. And then capture the video from another VCR on another pass.
Then merge. (Use Womble MPEG Video Wizard.)

Been there, done that. I should sell t-shirts.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
10-10-2012, 06:33 PM
Jpass992 Jpass992 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 126
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJRoadfan View Post
According to the photos I have found of that camcorder, it featured Hi-Fi audio which can have tracking issues. Have you tried switching to the linear track? The Hi-Fi track should have no hiss if tracking properly, the noise levels should be much lower then the linear track.
The camcorder doesn't have the problem. It's the JVC SR V101US we're talking about. It's sitting in my room awaiting repair as its out of alignment. It's got the original box and everything too.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
10-10-2012, 06:35 PM
Jpass992 Jpass992 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 126
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Even when I got the machine from B&H five years ago, the machine still had that issue with the audio. Even the newer HM DT100U which uses some of the same parts as those cheaper SVHS machines has the same issue too.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
10-10-2012, 08:48 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,134
Thanked 350 Times in 287 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpass992 View Post
The camcorder doesn't have the problem. It's the JVC SR V101US we're talking about. It's sitting in my room awaiting repair as its out of alignment. It's got the original box and everything too.
I was referring to the SR-V101US. My own HR-S7800U has its share of tracking issues with Hi-Fi tapes. My DVHS and Panasonic AG-1980 do a much better job at it.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire extension cables for under $20.00 Sossity Computers 1 04-22-2012 06:06 AM
Profigold Cables advice Hackerpcs Capture, Record, Transfer 1 03-04-2012 07:19 PM
Which are the best cables to use? DAN_D Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 2 04-22-2009 03:15 AM
Which are the best HDMI cables? DAN_D Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 2 12-04-2007 11:18 AM
Suggested A/V cables to use lookouts Capture, Record, Transfer 2 01-13-2006 06:04 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM