Quantcast Replacing VHS Tape Cassette - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
01-26-2013, 08:09 PM
Winsordawson Winsordawson is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Behind you
Posts: 409
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
I am working with some tapes that appear to have been edited on a VCR with bad alignment, as I can only view them in fast forward. Other tapes work fine, however.

I have read that transferring the vhs tape to a new cassette may help. Would it?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-26-2013, 08:23 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 209 Times in 189 Posts
are you sure you are not trying to play NTSC tapes on a PAL machine or vice-versa?

transferring the tape into a different shell wont really do anything.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-26-2013, 09:39 PM
Winsordawson Winsordawson is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Behind you
Posts: 409
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Thank you but no--I have played many tapes and I know which camera they were recorded on. What I read is that maybe the tape mechanism is off. All my tapes are NTSC.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-26-2013, 09:51 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 209 Times in 189 Posts
if the tapes where made on an out-of-alignment deck the only thing you can do is either use that same deck (if is available)
or purposely mis-align a deck to match the tapes
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-26-2013, 10:06 PM
Winsordawson Winsordawson is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Behind you
Posts: 409
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
how can I mis-align a deck? by unscrewing the guides?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-27-2013, 03:04 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,296
Thanked 363 Times in 337 Posts
Yes, just like that. GO SLOW!

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-27-2013, 11:34 AM
Winsordawson Winsordawson is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Behind you
Posts: 409
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Are the guides in the pictures attached? Which of the screws belong to the guides?


Attached Files
File Type: zip pictures.zip (3.81 MB, 3 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
01-27-2013, 12:40 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,296
Thanked 363 Times in 337 Posts
guides-P1010002.jpg

^ These.

Go very, very small. Like 8th turns each. Because 2-3 whole turms is enough to make them come off entirely.
Note that all VCRs cannot be adjussted like this. In fact, few can. But JVC often can.



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank kpmedia for this useful post: Winsordawson (01-27-2013)
  #9  
01-27-2013, 01:33 PM
Winsordawson Winsordawson is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Behind you
Posts: 409
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Thank you, do I need to ground myself if doing this while the machine is on? Or can I not ground it as long as the machine is off while I turn? Also I am using a SVHS Mitsubishi.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
01-27-2013, 04:30 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,296
Thanked 363 Times in 337 Posts
You can ground if you're worried or OCD, but it really doesn't matter.

... I wouldn't drag my shoes on carpet or anything though.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to copy DV tape to new DV tape with audio removed? via Email or PM Edit Video, Audio 1 09-13-2012 05:55 PM
Replacing a header with an image via CSS only, not HTML code Sossity Website and Server Troubleshooting 1 11-10-2011 09:48 PM
Help replacing FS200 video head? zeroprobe Video Hardware Repair 9 04-02-2011 04:26 AM
VHS tape malfunction, mechanism not rolling tape properly admin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 10-12-2009 10:57 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM