Quantcast What VCR, DVD Recorder, capture card to buy for best capture result? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
03-23-2013, 06:12 PM
TheCage TheCage is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello guys

My name is Alex, i'm from Europe, Bulgaria.

More i've read more i've confused in the last 2 weeks. VHS capture became one of my hobbies. Unfortunate through the years i didnt know how import are some things so its time to fix this.

What i had till now was VCR low level like DAEWOO DV-F24D, AKAI VS-R9EV and Aver Media Pro capture card.

For me the most important thing is the quality! Unfortunate i'll never had PRO experience like you guys but I have desire to learn more and upgrade my system.

For what i read the last few weeks I do understand that:
-Its better to use VCR with internal TBC like JVC SR-VS20,30..
-One of the best result is getting the signal trough VCR-TBC-DVD Rec-HDD/PC
-Avisynth is a huge weapon filtering and cleaning na PQ.
- and I do know there are many more whcih still has to learn

VCR:
I really really like the JVC SR-VS20 or 30 or 10. This machine looks so massive.... I want one of these but i can not find it here in Europe most of the offers on ebay are from USA and Canda. So i was thinking is there any alternative name of this models here for Europe? Or similar models which can give me the same result of quality? If possible with internal TBC.

DVD Recorder:
Panasonic DMR-ES10, 15 or JVC DR-MH300 DVD i remember only those names but its seems to be one of the best for this. Correct me please if im wrong

PC Card:
I was planning ATI AMD TV Wonder 650 PCI, Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR but you're talking a lot about ATi TV 600 USB which was strange for me... I was always thinking that pci card is preferable instead usb. seems wrong thinking again..

So what do you think guys? Do i have a chance?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-23-2013, 06:32 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 209 Times in 189 Posts
i would not recommend the SR-VS combo decks - (or any combo deck really)
they are good when working, but they are more prone to failure and there are better decks.
the only slight advantage they have is if you want to do Mini-Dv tapes
but a Sony Handycam is better IMO for any camcorder tape

the best DVD recorder is the JVC DR-M100
it has the LSI chipset and the FR recording modes

are your tape NTSC or PAL?
are you running windows XP or 7?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-23-2013, 06:53 PM
TheCage TheCage is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
PAL, Win 7 64bit

yeah now i remember of course dr-m100...thanks

i'm not sure if its allowed so i'll not post the link to the store i'll just copy the names of the VCR i can buy

check the attachment


Attached Images
File Type: png jvc.png (5.5 KB, 9 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-23-2013, 07:02 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 209 Times in 189 Posts
for PAL tapes a Panasonic NV-FS 200 , Panasonic NV-HS 1000
or one of the myriad of JVC decks that have a TBC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
03-24-2013, 09:18 AM
TheCage TheCage is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So jvc dr-m100 has internal hdd and the final destination of the signal should be placed there or i need to go with ATi TV 600 USB, 650pci???
Reply With Quote
  #6  
03-24-2013, 09:45 AM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 209 Times in 189 Posts
No HD - use the DR-M100 to burn direct to DVD's
if you want to put stuff on a PC you can just use the capture card

really 2 different workflows here.

if your tapes are pretty good and you dont need to edit them the DVD recorder route is quick and simple. it allows you to skip using a computer altogether. if you use a JVC LSI chipset recorder the results are good especially on XP mode.

if your tapes are bad or you want to edit/filter, use a capture card and put them straight onto your PC.
this is more time consuming, but you can capture lossless, edit/filter and will yield a better result.

you will probably need to get a stand alone TBC in either workflow.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-27-2013, 03:31 PM
TheCage TheCage is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does Panasonic NV-HS1000 has TBC? I dont think i will go with external tbc... I found some deals with hs1000 for 180$ which i think its good right? Beside i think to get Hauppauge Colossus capture card which has TBC too. And can tell me what software for WIn7 to use to capture in MPEG2 without losing quality. I had great results with WinDVR3 at the time but now its too old program.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
07-26-2014, 06:38 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,968
Thanked 1,695 Times in 1,473 Posts
Yes, the Panasonic NV-HS1000 has the internal line TBC -- actually a field based TBC, or multi-line. So better yet! The is the TBC meant for cleaning an image, and is not made for cleaning the signal. That's what the external TBC is for.

$180 is a steal these days -- that unit is often worth a good $300 or so, at least.

See also What is a TBC? Time Base Correction for Videotapes

The capture card TBC is likely not a true TBC, as defined by this site for the purpose of transferring analog video to a digital format. It's been discussed before, and results have been disappointing.

WinDVR is terrible, because it forces a blended deinterlace. Yuck!


This was an unanswered question or unresolved issue found during a site audit. It's hard to have an FAQ when the answers are missing, or final outcomes are unknown. At The Digital FAQ support forum, questions are never intentionally ignored, and may have been missed due to a forum glitch or human error. More details on the audit. (In some cases, threads have been edited/updated with newer information.)


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
07-26-2014, 12:15 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,146
Thanked 257 Times in 221 Posts
The Hauppauge Colossus TBC feature he's referring to is an unadvertised registry hack someone shared that adds line TBC functionality.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
09-02-2014, 04:01 AM
TheCage TheCage is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hah i'm back. thanks for the replies!

so to date i bought :
VCR: Panasonic NV-FS200
DVD: JVC DR-M100
ATI Tv Wonder 600 USB

So i need to configure my PC for transfer now.
As i remember reading the forums about the best way to transfer video signal was using Windows XP, Virtual Dub and HuffYUV codec. Well i was think if i can change XP with WIN 7 because Windows XP is in the history and it will be not update it anymore... So can I change the OS in the preferable conf. from XP to 7?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
09-02-2014, 07:48 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,198 Times in 959 Posts
Simplify your life and use XP. Seeing as how you're new to this, the last thing you need for startup is spending time to resolve Win7 driver issues with varied edit and capture software and hardware.

True, there are no more updates for XP. Count your blessings. They don't affect XP capture anyway. Microsoft likes to make a big thing out of "security" and pushes their own phoney antivirus add-ons that are virtually worthless. If it helps, I've been repairing WIndows PC's for over 20 years -- just a couple of weeks ago I cleaned up over 400 malware entries from a Windows 7 PC that had Defender and an expensive Norton "Security suite" installed. So much for security updates. You shouldn't be fooling around on the internet during capture anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
09-02-2014, 08:00 AM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 209 Times in 189 Posts
best to have a separate tower for capturing -
it is older tech so you can build or buy one dirt cheap
i use an XP box just for capture - i dont connect it to the internet at all
do a fresh clean install of XP pro SP2 and never update it

most anti-virus programs are rubbish
Norton is a huge resource hog and IMO worse than the viruses it is supposed to be protecting you from
Defender it not an anti-virus at all
Reply With Quote
  #13  
09-03-2014, 03:18 AM
TheCage TheCage is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yeah i see your point...
no problems at all to set up one XP on some of the hdd's.
No need from internet as well, also i stop updating OS's years ago...

Ok Win XP SP2
what about Virtual Dub? I used to work with 1.5.10 Mod, or to give a try of the latest verions?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
02-01-2015, 12:20 PM
TheCage TheCage is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok guys

I did what you told me. Installed XP, no antivirus and programs like that... just xp, drivers, capture software....

How I said the equipment is :
VCR: Panasonic NV-FS200 (GermanY)
DVD: JVC DR-M100 (import from USA)
ATI Tv Wonder 600 USB (import from USA)

TOday i did the first tests.... not happy with the result VHS - ATI 600 so i tried with JVC... damn i could get the right image, all the time was black and white flipping and couldnt get correct NTSC to PAL... Is there anyway to make the JVC work in PAL!? or this is not the reason....

VHS - ATI 600 - VirtualDub - set PAL - image is fine
VHS - JVC - ATI 600 - VirtualDUb - set PAL - no image

one more thing which is the best way to connect VHS with JVC and ATI 600???
Scart, component, S-video there is also DIGITAL OUT on the jvc.

How can i clean the vhs tapes!? i mean the vhs tapes, not the head of the VCR. I think for so many years the tapes got really dirty, is there anyway to clean them and improve the performance?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
02-01-2015, 03:03 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,146
Thanked 257 Times in 221 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCage View Post
VCR: Panasonic NV-FS200 (GermanY)
DVD: JVC DR-M100 (import from USA)
ATI Tv Wonder 600 USB (import from USA)
What leads you to believe that the US DVD recorder will work with PAL?

I'm also confused why you want to use the DVD recorder as a passthrough to the ATI 600. What's wrong with the NV-FS200's TBC?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
02-01-2015, 04:49 PM
TheCage TheCage is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i didnt think it will be an issue when the signal just passing through. didnt plan to watch ntsc dvds as well...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
02-03-2015, 08:00 AM
TheCage TheCage is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So what? there is no chance to work?

What about the cables? With which one i will get the best results?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
02-03-2015, 12:20 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,146
Thanked 257 Times in 221 Posts
The recorder would need to specifically support PAL. "Just passing through" still requires the circuitry to decode and then encode PAL color signals. According to your test, it doesn't support this.

Just use the S-Video output from the VCR.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
02-08-2015, 10:32 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,968
Thanked 1,695 Times in 1,473 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCage View Post
what about Virtual Dub? I used to work with 1.5.10 Mod, or to give a try of the latest verions?
Use the semi-current 1.9.x version. (1.10.x had a lot of bugs last time I tried it.)
Download this: VirtualDub with Filters Pre-loaded + HuffYUV [DOWNLOADS]

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCage View Post
i didnt think it will be an issue when the signal just passing through. didnt plan to watch ntsc dvds as well...
An NTSC DVD recorder will probably not work for PAL.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCage View Post
i didnt think it will be an issue when the signal just passing through. didnt plan to watch ntsc dvds as well...
The JVC is not a passthrough deck. You're confusing that with the Panasonic DMR-ES10 DVD recorder.

Quote:
How I said the equipment is :
VCR: Panasonic NV-FS200 (GermanY)
DVD: JVC DR-M100 (import from USA)
ATI Tv Wonder 600 USB (import from USA)
Excellent equipment.

Quote:
TOday i did the first tests.... not happy with the result VHS - ATI 600
What exactly were you not pleased with? Most likely it was just a settings issue on your end, and is therefore something easy to resolve.

Quote:
How can i clean the vhs tapes!? i mean the vhs tapes, not the head of the VCR.
What needs to be cleaned? Cleaning a tape is generally NOT suggested, as you can do more harm than good. Physical tape cleaning is serious restoration, and is best handled by professional. Even we don't handle many physical repairs (mold, fire damage, etc), only signal issues.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
04-15-2015, 05:10 PM
TheCage TheCage is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks for the info!

Does Panasonic DMR-ES10 DVD recorder is good as JVC dr-m100??

and has anyone wants to buy jvc dr-m100!?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture card or DVD recorder with component inputs ? volksjager Capture, Record, Transfer 18 07-19-2012 03:01 AM
Capture result is too bright - ATI 600 card Automan Capture, Record, Transfer 6 03-21-2011 04:21 PM
DVD recorder or capture card for better quality? also Project Planning, Workflows 4 06-05-2009 02:21 PM
Capture Card or Recorder fortunec00kie Capture, Record, Transfer 10 02-25-2007 03:54 PM
Q: capture card or dvd recorder? manthing Capture, Record, Transfer 5 03-18-2006 05:46 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM