Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
10-07-2013, 07:41 AM
Free Member

Hi, I've started to work on converting many (200-300+) VHS-C tapes to digital for my family. I'm pretty new to all of this and really appreciate your patience! I wanted to ask your opinion on what's contributing to the loss of image clarity I'm seeing. The tapes are in very good shape; I don't see many issues when watching them from my VCR. After converting about 10 tapes I'm just not satisfied with the captured digital picture quality. The images are a little bit fuzzy/grainy, especially those in the background. For example, if someone is walking into a room in the background, you can't make out the expression on their face (whereas you can when watching it on a VCR). This doesn't seem to be as much of a problem for images that were shot very close up. In general, the picture is not as sharp/clear as it is when I view the tapes from my VHS player.

My current equipment is:

Panasonic PV-7452- Hi-Fi, 4 head
Canopus ADVC-110 (bought this before I found my way to your site!), connected via RCA cables
MacBook Pro, 2.3GHz, 10.8.5 OS X
iMovie
iDVD for authoring

After going through your site, I recognize that nearly every piece of hardware/software I have is not recommended. Do I need to start from scratch? Do I need to go out and buy a PC? The only problem I have with the digital video is the graininess/fuzziness- it's not that there are jitters or color issues going on. I realize I'm pretty late in the game to be converting VHS to digital, and much of the hardware your site recommends seems to be difficult to find online. The only PC I have is dead and would require a professional to revive it. Any advice you can provide is greatly appreciated!
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

10-07-2013, 08:10 AM
Free Member

every single piece to have is bad.
especially the VCR and Canopus device
sell it off and start over.