Quantcast Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle doesn't report dropped frames - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
11-11-2013, 07:53 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
I have been doing captures from my LD player using 3 different devices (2 of them simultaneously).

One workflow:
LD-S2 Composite out -> DMR ES-25 Component out -> Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle for Thunderbolt

2nd workflow:

LD-S2 S-Video out -> Diamond VC500

3rd workflow:

LD-S2 Composite out -> ATI HD 750 PCIe.

The 1st 2 were usually done simultaneously. Then I would do the 3rd one.

Captures from VC500 and ATI HD 750 PCIe perfectly matched. But it turned out that in one hour of video capture BM dropped frames without informing the user and without inserting the previous frames. 2 captures I did were fine (one was an hour and another one was 25 minutes). 2 other captures had 2 lost frames each. 2 captures resulted in 4 dropped frames and one capture resulted in 8 dropped frames.

And the thing is that without notification there's no way to find out about these dropped frames unless the user does parallel capture like I do. Seriously if you capture the video, how would you know if you are short of a few frames? One thing is that the sound is kept synchronized though. I noticed is that if I lose 4 frames, the the overall sound is shorter by about 128 milliseconds.

I just informed the support about this problem. But if you are considering this device, you should be aware of the problem.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-16-2013, 07:47 AM
juhok juhok is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 379
Thanked 99 Times in 84 Posts
What software? With VirtualDub and Blackmagic Decklink Studio card it depends of the timing settings etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-17-2013, 12:05 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
For VC500 and ATI HD 750 PCIe, I used VirtualDub on Windows XP. For Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle I used Media Express on my MAcBookPro.

I will have to do further research on it, but it looks like it wasn't Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle fault. I am now almost certain that it was Panasonic DMR-ES25 fault. I recently placed Panasonic DMR-ES25 between my VCR and LifeView FlyVideo 3000FM capture card to serve as TBC. I noticed skipped frames. I will dig further and will let you know my findings.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
07-26-2014, 08:00 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,515
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
What was your conclusion on these Panasonic DMR-ES25 tests?

I've always said that the Panasonic DVD recorder units used for passthrough were NOT transparent and had side effects. Therefore these were NOT suggested for being a general TBC. They were the best solution for certain errors, but it certainly was not a ideal deck beyond that.

Panasonic was NOT known to make good recorders, and the passthrough side effects -- that I found all those years ago, and told everyone everywhere -- was simply a fluke.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: metaleonid (12-25-2014)
  #5  
02-10-2015, 08:53 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Lordsmurf, sorry! I missed your post back in the day.

One word. It sometimes has posterization artifacts. Other than that it's ok. I did capture with this from both VHS (S-Video to S-Video) and LaserDisc (composite to component). I can send you snippets of this compared to alternative versions of the same footages not using DMR-ES25.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
What was your conclusion on these Panasonic DMR-ES25 tests?

I've always said that the Panasonic DVD recorder units used for passthrough were NOT transparent and had side effects. Therefore these were NOT suggested for being a general TBC. They were the best solution for certain errors, but it certainly was not a ideal deck beyond that.

Panasonic was NOT known to make good recorders, and the passthrough side effects -- that I found all those years ago, and told everyone everywhere -- was simply a fluke.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-10-2015, 10:31 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,515
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
I've been saying that for 10 years now. The Panasonic DVD recorder have posterization (and luma errors, sometimes IRE errors). Glad to see somebody else that notices. I'm often told that a chart does show it, "I don't see it", blah blah blah. But I know what I see. I'm very discerning. When you "go pro" with work, you tend to notice those things.

I would love to see your samples, and probably use them on a guide about the ES machines.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
02-10-2015, 11:06 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
You want screenshots or you want some AVI parts?

The thing is that I have no choice capturing from LaserDiscs. You either go with ATI TV Wonder HD 750 PCIe and hope this doesn't trigger AGC or you go with Panasonic DMR-ES25 component out. Or you go with S-Video out to AIW and hope that someone writes motion adaptive 3d comb filter as post processing.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-11-2015, 09:48 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,515
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
Both.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropped Frames - I figured out the problem JLegnon Capture, Record, Transfer 2 01-30-2013 03:06 PM
Blackmagic Intensity Pro Flicker Problem P4RL Capture, Record, Transfer 6 05-25-2012 11:05 PM
Blackmagic Design Intensity Pro HDMI and Analog Editing Card metaleonid Capture, Record, Transfer 1 02-01-2012 05:45 AM
A tape that can't be digitized? (Dropped frames?) moxiecat Capture, Record, Transfer 22 12-06-2011 05:57 PM
Is there an acceptable rate of dropped frames? maphew Capture, Record, Transfer 5 06-20-2010 09:11 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM