Quantcast Have Dazzle DVD recorder - but is it junk? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
11-22-2014, 12:33 PM
AJS3 AJS3 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello,

I have the Dazzle DVD recorder which I purchased a couple years ago and am finally getting around to converting some Hi8 tapes. I'm using the Sony Handycam Vision that I used to record the tapes. The provided software is the "Instant DVD Recorder". I assume this will compress my video and from what I have been reading on your forums this is a bad idea. I would like to do some simple video editing with these files at some point. Is the Dazzle product something I can use to convert these to digital files with downloadable software or do I need to start over with a different conversion method? Of should I just pay you guys? I have about 30 Hi8 tapes, some partial, some full.

Thank you in advance!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-23-2014, 11:51 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,705
Thanked 2,139 Times in 1,840 Posts
I have one of those. And yes, it is junk. The device simply behaves badly.

With only 30 tapes, have you consider sending it out to a service? I ask because I'm the one here that mostly deal with Hi8, and enjoy working with the format. All you need is the right equipment, but given the cost of "the right equipment", paying others to do it can be the same or even cheaper. With Hi8, you need an external TBC to not have issues. Even the with-TBC cameras will drop frames.

The Dazzle is awful in the dropped frames department, and even worse with DV/MPEG compression via the included software. It's usually Pinnacle Studio, but sometimes worse junk is included.

So that's where you are with this.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-24-2014, 08:20 AM
AJS3 AJS3 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah I agree with the service doing it.

I assume your pricing is somewhere on the site so I will take a look.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
11-24-2014, 09:30 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,314
Thanked 370 Times in 339 Posts
Contact us: http://www.digitalFAQ.com/forum/sendmessage.php

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture card advice - Dazzle vs ATI 600? MMM3 Capture, Record, Transfer 4 07-26-2014 07:23 AM
Dazzle DVC107 video decoder chip info wanted AusDaz Capture, Record, Transfer 58 10-10-2012 01:24 PM
Toshiba (DRW2) DVD Recorder * Good or Bad Recorder Pepeart Capture, Record, Transfer 4 09-20-2006 03:12 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM