digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Capture, Record, Transfer (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/)
-   -   Use same computer for video editing and capturing? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/6326-computer-video-editing.html)

sirbyron 01-27-2015 09:27 PM

Use same computer for video editing and capturing?

As I am looking at the various recommendations for older ATI AIW cards, I realize these mainly are installed on Pentium 4 systems. Mainly looking at the AIW 9600/9700 card (AGP slot). With that said, can a P4 machine properly equipped handle the editing tasks of lossless video files? Or do the ones who use this method transfer the file to a newer machine to edit?

I am new to the "computer" editing but I am looking at getting an AIW card to capture my video "lossless". I do understand about 2 hard drives, one dedicated to video. I also plan to use VirtualDub as discussed here. If anyone is using a P4 system in this way I 'd love to hear your system specs! :) My videos are at max .. about an hour long. Most are only 15-20 minutes each but several have very bad chroma noise in them that my hardware based equipment isn't removing.

Also, after editing on computer, do you burn to that drive or would you come out and burn to an external recorder? Only reason I mention this is because I have a JVC DRM10s which is recommended here on the forums a lot. I assume that is only when you are "hardware" editing though.

My "external" equipment:
Panasonic AG1980
Elite BVP
TBC 3000
Panasonic DMR-ES10 (for pass through only)
JVC DRM10S

Thanks for the help and suggestions.

sanlyn 01-28-2015 06:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sirbyron (Post 36175)