Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
06-13-2004, 10:44 PM
Premium Member

Hi and PLS help! I need some advice regarding a new capture card.

Over the time I have tried several H/W solutions for videoediting without any success.

Bravado 1000
ASUS V8200
Pinnacle PCTV Stereo
Hauppauge PVR o.s.v.
But they all have some drawbacks or it’s maybe me who don’t understand videoediting. I’m still new to this

Anyway, I have today an analog video camera Hi8 and want to transfer/edit old films to DVD.
To capture with the old Bravado1000 generates to low quality MPEG-1
ASUS V8200, to limited colour depth and lost frames (thought the AGP connection should help here, but it didn’t)
Pinnacle generated lost frame at decent resolution
Hauppauge generated ok quality with there on board MPEG-2 encoder, but after editing (editing was don with Ulead) this file generated to low quality

So my first question is, what file format should I use for capturing, I guess plain AVI (not compressed) should be the best but unrealistic, and SW encoders seems to lack speed at an accepted quality. And should I expect my PC to keep up with the bitstream (P4 1,7Mhz, 512M-RAM running WinXP)
My second choice was MPEG-2, but with the result with the Hauppauge made me doubtful if this was the right track. I guess recompression of MPEG-2 is not a good idée.
So is the DV the right choice? I mean as all new digital cameras are using this and the result looks fine for me (I have however not seen any editing done on this format)
Or have I misused some of the parameters when editing MPEG-2

Second question, what hardware should I buy this (last) time to be satisfied?
Is the Hauppauge PVR-350 generating good quality both before and after editing?
Or are some of the external DV (as Pinnacle) boxes to be recommended
Or should I go for some PCI solution without any encoders?
Or a completely different solution???

With best regards
Joakim Engelsten