Quantcast Workflow to save time, better quality + ghosting in video? - Page 4 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #61  
07-17-2015, 10:43 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,221
Thanked 285 Times in 239 Posts
They "should" affect the VDub capture, but some have said the settings only take effect when doing MPEG-2 hardware capturing. There's a guy on another forum playing with this card recently, but he seems to be really busy lately and hasn't posted his findings yet. So I dunno.

You found a working driver after using a bad one and you aren't sharing? :|
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #62  
07-24-2015, 07:58 PM
mo418 mo418 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 43
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
You found a working driver after using a bad one and you aren't sharing? :|
Sorry I was not at home.

ATI DRIVER (not good, well for me) on their website is: 9-7_xp32-64_t550-600-650_wdm.exe

This is revision 9.7, here is the link: http://support.amd.com/en-us/downloa...r=true&rev=9.7

The driver found (WORKING) is : 10-4_xp32-64_unified_wdm.exe

This is revision 10.4, here is the link: http://www.touslesdrivers.com/index....3&v_code=28064

This site is in french sorry, but it is pretty intuitive. Download is "telechargement"

I'm running Windows XP SP3 (32bits)
Reply With Quote
  #63  
07-26-2015, 10:20 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,221
Thanked 285 Times in 239 Posts
Excellent, thank you!

Indeed, the version that I downloaded from their site last year was 9.7.

I found a forum post (about the 650) that indicated where to find your driver version on the AMD site. It shows up if you choose Theater 750 instead of Theater 550. Two ridiculous things about this:
  1. Theater 550 is in the "Products Supported" list on that page. (So why doesn't it show up when you search their site for 550 drivers??)
  2. Theater 750 is not in the "Products Supported" list on that page -- only on the Win7 driver page, which removes the 550 from the list. (WTF?!)
File hashes match your link, so yours is also trustworthy, at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
07-26-2015, 04:20 PM
mo418 mo418 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 43
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ahhhh, good then! Your link is even better than mine, being directly from AMD.

And yes, as you said, I thought the 750 was for win7 only, since there was no XP driver.

Hope this can help someone!
Reply With Quote
  #65  
09-07-2015, 08:06 PM
mo418 mo418 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 43
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi again guys!

I'm back at work on this. As said, I got everything setup. I captured lots of videos from 8mm using virtualdub and lagarith.

Now I'm into avisynth and QTGMC and more.

I would like good video playback on a computer (I will probably keep unprocessed files as archive, in case I would like TV playback someday). From readings and your suggestions..

Quote:
For the deinterlacing, it seems like you're saying you put the script into VirtualDub and created an AVI output using Fast Recompress, then encoded that using x264. You don't need to do that; you can feed the Avisynth script straight into x264.

x264 + MP3 is a weird combination. x264 + AAC would be the typical configuration, and AAC is a more efficient audio compressor.
I concluded X264 and AAC would be a good way to go, done in my Avisynth script along with QTGMC. (Unless you recommend something else!)

Is that possible? To sum up, I'd like to take my "uncompressed" Lagarith captured avi file and get to the desired result, in 1 operation.

Thanks in advance

PS: I saw all your proposed scripts before for correction, but I don't know if I'll have the patience to learn and master everything. I'll see during the process (I have 2 young children, and my free time is somewhat limited heheh). I think the new captures with ATI TV THEATER 500 look not bad (or better than previous captures!)

Last edited by mo418; 09-07-2015 at 08:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
09-09-2015, 06:07 PM
mo418 mo418 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 43
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
HI again!

Few questions here...

1-I get green screen/no video but sound after going through qtgmc in virtualdub (with avisynth script). What might be the issue?

Here is the script

AVISource("01.avi")
crop(10,0,-6,-6).AddBorders(8,2,8,4)
AssumeTFF()
QTGMC()


In VirtualDub, I use fast recompress for video, and direct stream copy for audio.

2-Talking about sound, I only get sound from 1 channel. How can a duplicate mono sound to both channels at the same time?

3-Should I start a new thread since it's already 4 pages long and that the points discussed before are kind of old?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can VHS tapes really degrade in quality over time? msgohan Tech Myths, Misinformation 20 05-09-2017 10:16 PM
OSX video workflow for a Mac? pinheadlarry Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 109 08-02-2014 10:38 PM
Source problem or bad workflow: DVD quality vs VHS quality Mejnour Project Planning, Workflows 5 12-30-2011 01:15 PM
Free methods to save video from an educational site? SailsOnBlue Encode, Convert for streaming 6 03-25-2010 03:51 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM