Quantcast Mini DV capture using Pinnacle Studio Moviebox in Windows 8? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
06-14-2015, 09:05 AM
StickManMax StickManMax is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello,

I am trying to capture Mini DV footage from my Sony PD-150 using a pinnacle studio moviebox.

It converts DV signal to USB Through a normal Firewire 4pin cable input to moviebox then a usb output to my laptop.

But every time I try and capture (used Premiere Pro, Pinnacle software & another windows DV capture software) it doesn't work!!!

For some reason it just cannot be recognised, even though the Moviebox is listed in 'devices & printers'

What am I doing wrong here? Is it windows 8? I've tried updating drivers (?) and hasn't helped so far...
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-14-2015, 11:48 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,185 Times in 957 Posts
Mini-Dv is copied 1:1 to a computer via Firewire, not captured and re-encoded with capturing software. Other members familiar with Windows 8 might be able to offer some details on how to "capture" DV with software using that OS. If your laptop doesn't have Firewire, you're stuck with "capturing", but there will be a quality loss by using that method even uif could do it.

The article from the UK in this link might offer some help: http://www.dvmp.co.uk/dv-capture-over-usb.htm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-14-2015, 03:20 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,146
Thanked 256 Times in 221 Posts
The page linked by Sanlyn says that your device won't work on Windows 8; an update at the very bottom says that they got it to work on Windows 8.1 but only with "Version 14".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-14-2015, 03:45 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,185 Times in 957 Posts
@msgohan, thankx for the new info. I didn't scroll down far enough to see that info.

I hate Windows 8. I upgraded my wife's Win8 PC to Windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-15-2015, 03:34 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 75 Times in 70 Posts
Hello
Works only on Win 7 with Pinnacle USB Box 510
Pinnacle Studio 15 HD

Sorry, can not speak English


Attached Images
File Type: jpg DV-per-USB2-to-PC.jpg (58.8 KB, 21 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-20-2015, 08:22 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,640
Thanked 1,635 Times in 1,419 Posts
"It said to install Windows 8 or better. So I installed Linux." (I never tire of that old joke!)

Nice sample Goldwingfahrer.
Sometimes speaking English isn't that important when you can show screenshots.

I hate the term "capture", when usede for DV. It's not actually captured. It's transferred.
See also: http://www.digitalfaq.com/guides/video/capture-dv.htm

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-20-2015, 09:42 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 75 Times in 70 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Nice sample Goldwingfahrer.
Sometimes speaking English isn't that important when you can show screenshots.
Yes, as I see it
for Avisynth, Canopus Procoder and hybrid reaches my english, I'm already an old man.
1958 there were only French and Latin.

Hybrid =
Hybrid is a multi platform (Linux/Mac OS X/Windows) Qt based frontend for a bunch of other tools which can convert nearly every input to x264/x265/Xvid/VP9/... + ac3/ogg/mp3/aac/flac inside an mp4/m2ts/mkv/webm/mov/avi container, a Blu-ray or an AVCHD structure.

http://www.selur.de/

Quote:
I hate the term "capture", when usede for DV. It's not actually captured. It's transferred.
See also: http://www.digitalfaq.com/guides/video/capture-dv.htm
Read or transferred...is it correct

Win 8 I did not, but win 10 for testing.

DV [mini-DV or big bands] transfer works via DV-in at the Canopus NX Card [PCI or PCI-E] + Frontbay with Sony DSR 11 [Pal + NTSC]

The Panasonic AG-DV2700e [Pal SP + LP] goes only with an additional OHCI card with TI chipset, currently as free slot only PCI.
Have already tested the silver hair.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
capture, driver, help with video, mini dv, pinnacle

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VHS to computer - use Pinnacle Moviebox or go with ATI card? SinghDk Capture, Record, Transfer 16 02-17-2015 09:10 AM
For Sale: Pinnacle Studio movieBox Plus USB capture card, new in box lordsmurf Marketplace 1 07-26-2012 12:48 PM
DVD recorder to Pinnacle Studio to new DVD? lordsmurf Project Planning, Workflows 0 03-25-2010 07:51 PM
Convert .avi to .mpeg (mini DVD and Pinnacle Studio) Dianne Encode, Convert for discs 10 04-11-2009 01:52 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM