07-01-2004, 11:15 PM
Premium Member

Hello there
I am a novice when it comes to convert video to DVD. I recently bought ATI AIW Radeon 9600 Pro 128( based on your recommendation)and set it up according to your guideline. I have a couple of questions

1-Do I have to connect from A/V out( from ATI AIW) to line in of my sound card in order to capture sound? I thought when I connect the ATI AIW 4-HEADED INPUT ADAPTER
from video(video+R/L audio) into A/V in of the ATI AIW ( via 8-pin input), it would capture the sound as well.

2-I have 2 soundcards in my computer( echo GINA which offers better sound quality and Realtek from the motherboard), ATI AIW only recognises the Realtek. If I connect the audio out from the video to the audio in of the Gina and use Nuendo to capture the sound( at 48 KHz) while capturing the video using ATI MMC 8.1, will this affect the quality of the captured video( My system is P4
3 Giga Hz with 1 Gig of RAM).

Thanks again for your great service and forum
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-02-2004, 04:46 PM
Site Staff | Web Development

1- But the soundcard and ATI card must be connected inside the PC using AUX wiring. Or connect the audio cable from the ATI output wires into the LINE IN on the soundcard. The output is the black wire bundle, input is the purple box.

2- Audio out of ATI wires to input of other card should be fine. Just be aware it can cause sync issues, and then running two programs at once could hurt performance or cause frames to be dropped. You lose one frame, and sync is gone. ATI MMC would drop BOTH audio/video at a drop to keep sync.

If you need anything else, ask. I'm being brief beause carpal tunnel acting up on me today.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
07-04-2004, 12:26 AM
Premium Member