Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-04-2015, 11:22 PM
Free Member

Is this a known issue? I've done macrovision copies from vcr to vcr with the sima color corrector years ago and it always removed the protection with no issues.

Current setup is vcr to sima color corrector to ati aiw 9800 pro. I've never tried before but figured it would work but obviously it doesn't.

Any ideas as to why I either get no picture or a single distorted line on output?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-05-2015, 07:15 AM
Free Member

Under law (might have been the millennium copyright protection act) equipment is supposed to include features to prevent unauthorized copying of material. Macrovision originally worked with standards-compliant VHS VCR's by fooling the AGC to produce a unwatchable image. However, other devices, such as camcorders, Hi8 VCRs, and digitizers worked differently, and were required to incorporate other features to detect, and respect copy protection. For example, the Sony EV-S7000 Hi8 VCR included a separate circuit board for copy protection detection.

Your SIMA was likely "officially" sold as a stabilizer to allow viewing of protected video on TV sets that were hypersensitive to the Macrovision signal (not to "get around" copyright protection). The SIMA may have been designed to do what was needed to deal with the VHS VCR sensitivity at its time, but not fully eliminate the parts of the Macrovision signal that the ATI detects. Check to see if it still allows VCR-to-VCR copies, and whether or not you can clean it up further by using another device as a pass-thru after the SIMA.