Quantcast Using Scenalyzer best to rip DV tapes? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
08-15-2015, 11:22 PM
ozigoo ozigoo is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi, Just downloaded and begun playing around with Scenalyzer with my old DV tapes that I want to convert and store on Hard drive.
I want to basically just rip the whole tape in good quality all in one go without it splitting it up into separate "scenes" ... whats the best way to do this as I cant seem to figure it out from the manual?

cheers
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-15-2015, 11:31 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,668
Thanked 1,864 Times in 1,613 Posts
Trivia: "Rip" usually means disc, but for once it's accurate here too, since DV is just digital data on magnetic tape. "Capture" is actually the wrong term for DV. "Transfer" is the usual term. Anyway...

WinDV tends to be the best. Have you tried it yet?
Official site: http://windv.mourek.cz/

Scenalyzer was an advanced DV "capture"/rip/transfer tool, and it sounds as if you do not need it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: ozigoo (08-16-2015)
  #3  
08-16-2015, 12:07 AM
ozigoo ozigoo is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the prompt reply, no i havnt tried it..I was just given an old Acer Aspire 1703SC massive dinosaur laptop but it has a fire wire port which I need of course for my old videocamera, so Ive just started today researching the best way to transfer my old DVI tapes onto HDD. Came across the Scenalyser program and this site in google so I just went for that and it all works on this old lappy like a treat... might try the other...cheers

I did join all the bits together in Scenalyser but I thought there might be a way to just "Rip" the whole thing as 1 by unticking a box somewhere or something...cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scenalyzer 3.5 / ScLive 4.0 DV Software [DOWNLOAD] lordsmurf Capture, Record, Transfer 5 03-01-2016 04:54 PM
No video when transferring with Sony HVR-M15U and Scenalyzer? Father-of-Ash Capture, Record, Transfer 6 03-26-2015 02:01 PM
Capturing Hi8 tape using Scenalyzer TheAncient Capture, Record, Transfer 7 07-25-2014 03:39 AM
Artifacts in video when capturing DV with Scenalyzer gilou8 Capture, Record, Transfer 1 12-28-2011 08:22 AM
Can VHS tapes sit on a shelf too long? Borders on tapes? kpmedia Capture, Record, Transfer 0 03-22-2010 03:54 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 AM