Quantcast VirtualDub terrible dropped frames issue solved! - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
10-24-2015, 03:28 PM
Guessed Guessed is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
I don't post or contribute much, but since I solved my problem I would like to share it with others who may have the same problem since I have seen it posted before.

When using MMC I could capture without basically dropping a frame. Try in VirtualDub and no matter what I did it would drop 15-20% of the frames consistently.

After a lot of reading and troubleshooting I came across a post mentioning turning off audio playback during capture. Sure enough that fixed my issue right up.

So for other who may have trouble with lots of dropped frames, try capturing without audio playback enabled and that may help.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Guessed for this useful post: bigkazzyry (05-30-2020), jcw122 (09-25-2019), lordsmurf (01-04-2016)
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-25-2015, 06:31 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Exact recorders, time-steady signal [exakt zeitkonstantes Signal] and very good capture map.
Other recorder from the collection try out and use suitable TBC.

Sorry...... digitize from analogous is no popular sport separate what for professional `see.
Since these have the right devices.

One can make to filters with Avisynth then quite same.

Example picture


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3-Std.Capture.jpg (74.0 KB, 20 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-04-2016, 10:16 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,091
Thanked 1,970 Times in 1,699 Posts
Yep, you found the issue!

You cannot capture in VirtualDub while the audio preview is enabled. Some audio cards have a "What U Hear" function, while others do not. On those cards, you can hear the input via internal loopback, and VirtualDub preview doesn't need to be enabled.

Or use ATI MMC to capture AVI, if audio playback on recording is required, and the audio card lacks the internal loopback function.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVI in MMC is fine, with VD terrible dropped frames Guessed Capture, Record, Transfer 2 08-07-2015 01:58 AM
ATI MMC doesn't report dropped frames hysteriah Capture, Record, Transfer 9 02-11-2015 09:03 AM
Dropped Frames - I figured out the problem JLegnon Capture, Record, Transfer 2 01-30-2013 03:06 PM
A tape that can't be digitized? (Dropped frames?) moxiecat Capture, Record, Transfer 22 12-06-2011 05:57 PM
Is there an acceptable rate of dropped frames? maphew Capture, Record, Transfer 5 06-20-2010 09:11 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM