Quantcast Test comparison: AVT8710 + Canopus NX + DMR EH65 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
11-05-2015, 11:14 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Recorder JVC HM-DR-10000
VHS test tape [small cutting from test film]

1. AVT8710 "Default" PAL
2. Canopus NX [S-Video-in]
3. Pana DMR EH65 [HDMi out]

[Big test was to be found already here]
Contribution 548

http://forum.gleitz.info/showthread....er-HDMI/page55


Attached Files
File Type: mpg Vergleich_1_und_2.mpg (44.93 MB, 61 downloads)
File Type: mpg Vergleich_1_und_3.mpg (44.93 MB, 45 downloads)
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Goldwingfahrer for this useful post: archivarious (02-27-2021)
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-07-2015, 06:05 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Thus became gecapturt
[JVC HM-DR10000-> AVT-8710-> Datavideo DAC 7-> SDI in Blackmagic map.
Format = Huffyuv [YUV]

2.all clips on the timelines in Edius 7.50

3. Audio delay = 40 ms [default Settings]
[however, according to filter settings this can still be more, to 120 ms]

4. Sony Vegas pro-13 indicates white and black in 16-35, however, works inside in RGB.

5. AVT-8710 capturt the area of from 13 to 244

A.Edius [Huffyuv file] lays the file in the area from 0 to 255

B.korrekte setting in from 16 to 235 in Edius.

Result
AVT-8710 is useful if one the audio Delay in the Postpro considered and not forgets that one on from 16 to 235 for TV must put.


Attached Images
File Type: png 1.png (42.0 KB, 28 downloads)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (104.6 KB, 18 downloads)
File Type: png 3.png (33.5 KB, 12 downloads)
File Type: jpg 4.jpg (48.2 KB, 13 downloads)
File Type: jpg A.jpg (76.0 KB, 13 downloads)
File Type: jpg B.jpg (67.9 KB, 20 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-07-2015, 10:27 AM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 69 Times in 63 Posts
My translator is not working so well - what was your verdict on the DMR series?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
11-07-2015, 10:52 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Here I have 2 DMR EH65 + 1 DMR EH595 with HDMI output.
A DMR EX98V [VHS / HDD / DVD] with HDMI, I have the TV [plasma]
connected, not on video editing suite.
All other DMR only have S-Video output, DMR ES10 + ES15.
All old DMR E100H [2003] I have discarded.

DMR EH65 + 595 provide the signal in 720 x 576 [480 NTSC], and here are the 2nd choice.
1st place are the Canopus NX cards with proc amp.
But that is only in YUY2 or Canopus HQ AVI [4: 2: 2] = VBR = variable bit rates.

With us there was in the 1950 years did not speak English, only German, French, Italian and Latin, and of course the Swiss Dialekt.Sorry.Bin to old to something to learn, the lime already trickling out of the brain.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-04-2016, 07:44 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,086
Thanked 1,969 Times in 1,698 Posts
Audio delay is usually just 1 field or frame, so 1/25 of a second. I get worse delay from satellite TV and DVDs. I don't think the lag of a TBC is anything to worry about.

It's only video capture lag that I pay attention to, as sometimes you cannot bypass the audio input to the computer without introducing lag. So in those instances, you have to allow the capture card to pass audio at it's own pace. The ATI AIW card is an example.

I read somewhere else where you mentioned the DMR-EH65 had LSI. But I don't think that's correct, and it uses a Panasonic chip. Would you mind opening yours to verify?

So is your conclusion that this is an ideal setup?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-04-2016, 10:31 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
delay of 121 ms, the ES10
S-Video + Audio = Front-in
Scart S-Video and Audio output

A DMR EH65 I open but not until Tuesday morning
---------------

ES10

2 Samples shift left channel to the right channel

Post 15
http://forum.gleitz.info/showthread....light=dmr+es10

+post 42
http://forum.gleitz.info/showthread....light=dmr+es10

121 ms delay
post578
-------------------

just seen only see image


Attached Images
File Type: png ES10 TBC or not.png (308.7 KB, 30 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-06-2016, 02:20 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
I see nothing of LSI.
My technician is during the holidays

LSI is possible HDD is from 18 July 2006

I need the EH65 only as passthrough
front AV3-in or Back AV4-in
HDMI out
-----------------------------------

http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/2...minates-market

http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/2...-encoding-chip


Attached Files
File Type: zip DMR_EH65.zip (5.26 MB, 9 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
01-23-2016, 04:06 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Here's another comparison
AVT-8710 and TB-1000

JVC HM-DR10000 recorder = [internal TBC = off]

Low to VHS tape
------------------
supplement
From AVT-8710 and the TBC-1000
the signal to a video DAC Data-7 was conducted.
The DAC-7 outputs the signal via SDI to the Blackmagic Studio Map

Who has experience with the AVT-8710 and other TBC ?


Attached Files
File Type: zip AVT_8710__TBC1000.zip (87.61 MB, 29 downloads)

Last edited by Goldwingfahrer; 01-23-2016 at 04:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
01-25-2016, 10:17 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,192
Thanked 280 Times in 234 Posts
Hmm. Interesting comparison. I'm not sure what to conclude from it besides the TBC-1000 not raising the brightness like the AVT-8710. It looks like the TBC-1000 perhaps stabilizes wiggling lines a little better? But neither is very good at that, as we know.

I would prefer separate videos rather than the split-screen experience, personally.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
01-25-2016, 10:59 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
I also do individual streams here.

I went there only to the black level

Edius recognizes the stream from the AVT-8710 Black incorrectly as 0

Capture with Sony vegas i then the black level is displayed correctly as 16th

Depending on the feeder has a colleague in Germany with the green / black AVT-8710
and I here with the black AVT 8710 the same mistakes
The image is shifted gecapturt.

That is to say ... the AVT-8710 is picky .... a bitchy diva.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
02-08-2016, 08:59 PM
AJAX1 AJAX1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hi Goldwingfahrer,

Iīm not sure If I have really understood well yours posts in this thread. Beyond reviewing the avt-8710 it seems you are also suggesting an alternative workflow to capture analog video able to provide quality comparable or eventually better than the established and conventional workflow for analog capture ( Svhs player(w/tbc/dnr) – svideo- full frame tbc (avt8710 /tbc- 1000)-Ati AIW 9000/Ati 600 usb–Virtualdub losseless Huffyuv).

Also similar info is on the gleitz forum.

The workflow you have used JVC/Pana Svhs-Pana DMR EH535 –hdmi Black magic Shuttle Intensity, can it really provide identical or best quality then the conventional workflows ?

If itīs really the case and you are convinced you got good results I was interested to know more detail about your workflow. Namely hdmi settings i/p and resolutions , capture settings in the black magic, use of D1 or half D1 as it seems eventually gives better results.

I can try a similar workflow with a JVC HR-DVS3/ JVC HR-S9500 - LG HDD DVD Recorder RH199HS ( accepts firewire /svideo/composite and output almost everything from any of the inputs , Hdmi (720(1440)x576i, 720x576p, 1280x720p, or 1920x1080i ) component I or P , scart RGB, svideo or composite ) - and a startech usb3hdcap that accepts hdmi up until 1080p 60 f.

The Lg DVD recorder is a 2006 machine with one of the news LSI chips and I think a Philips 7137d a/v decoder.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
02-09-2016, 03:08 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Hello AJAX1

Many questions

JVC HR DVs I had all 3 models, the DVS1 I had to change the DV drive.
This is a disease in DVS1
Pictures I have shown here before.
I have at the moment only the JVC HR DVS2 but rarely and only for output from VHS / S-VHS via S-Video need him.
Mini DV tapes I do not play on it, the drive is too imprecise.

In my collection of over 40 recorder / Feeder I have the JVC HR S9500.
Not all bands I can therefore play clean.
Must always try several recorder, here I have different bands.

DMR EH535 I do not know
I recommended Gleitz Forum in very bad source to ES10
but audio digitize separately and report the delay of 121 ms in postproduction.
or Datavideo AD100 or Rane AD22....
We recommend the EH65 / EH595 / EH585
Difference is the EH585 only the smaller built-up disk.

All DVD / HDD recorder, we have not been tested in Gleitz Forum.
Only sold in Europe.
For best results we had with the said Pana DMR EH 65 + 595 models

Settings in Black Magic ......
is different from version to version.
New with version 10 to 10.5, we do not need.
We have only the shuttle USB3 and expensive BM Studio 2
I work [Win 7] with the version 9.8
The media Composer V.8.1 / Sony Vegas pro 13 and Edius 7.5
give the signal via HDMI to the Plasma TV on.


Capturing only in 576i [PAL]
NTSC and Secam west [france] we capture with Canopus NX

The NR filter the DMR is always off

ES 10 = 704 x 576 [480]
EH65 = 720 x 576 [480]
--------------------------

BM setting...see ZIP
shuttle USB3
I go directly via S-Video and Audio on this shuttle purely because the supplies setter a clean time constant signal
[Color shift is in the postpro corrected]

addendum
Screen from test capture the shuttle USB3, see ZIP


Attached Files
File Type: zip Blackmagic.zip (1,020.3 KB, 10 downloads)
File Type: zip Capture-BM.zip (421.8 KB, 17 downloads)

Last edited by Goldwingfahrer; 02-09-2016 at 03:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
02-10-2016, 08:57 PM
AJAX1 AJAX1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thank you Goldwingfahrer,

I will try to do some tests to see what I will get as results

Considering your extensive collection of more then 40 dvd recorders can you give your personal opinion if the Pana DMR EH65 that you used in your workflow is the one that gives better results in this type of workflow or if other models or brands like JVC units usually regarded as superior could have any advantage related to filtering function namely reduction of analog Chroma noise , color improvement and better recorder levels adjustment. Also the quality of the included ADC that will be the one to be used in this workflow.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
02-13-2016, 05:48 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
No I only have about 7 DVD recorder
Most other recorder + fedder are VHS / S-VHS / S-VHS-C / Betamax inclusive SB / Hi8 and Video 8 / Betacam SP / Betacam Digital S 4: 2: 2 / DVCPRO / DVCAM / DV-recorder for mini-DV and 3 h DV.
and yet all Old VCR from 1971 + 1972 + SP LP and SV recorder
[Philips + Grundig]

The EH65 I put only one order per analog passthrough directly into digital HDMI
output.
The EH65 directed jitter quite good but not as good as the ES10.
Important when EH65 = off NR filter.

VHS PAL / NTSC / Secam Ost and L [france] PAL-N / PAL-M

Last edited by Goldwingfahrer; 02-13-2016 at 06:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
02-24-2016, 10:35 PM
AJAX1 AJAX1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hello Goldwingfahrer

I just bought a new “used” Pana DMR-EH65 to try these type of workflows and use it instead of my LG HDD DVD Recorder RH199HS as it seems it does a better job filtering and removing jitter.

It worked fine in svideo- svideo pass-through and it seems to give best results then my previous LG however through HDMI I canīt get nothing. I canīt get a connection with my startech usb3hdcap device, it cycles with no signal, HDCP, and different hdmi resolutions.My LG doesnīt have this problem it connects without problems with the hdmi capture device.
I think an Hdmi splitter can solve the problem, I already ordered one, I hope it solves it

In the german forum I think itīs said to use the scart av1 to get th svideo signal and not the normal svideo out ,they speak about a more stable signal or similar situation , can you confirm this.

Also I think you don’t use the DMR internal comb filter is that correct?

I was also thinking to eventually buy a used Matrox MXO2 LE with a host pcie As you have one can you please confirm if these points are correct or not

-It seems reading the specifications that it can capture SD analog but the capture formats are only 720p and above .It seems it captures SD but records only HD.

It seems also only to accept HD hdmi ,apparently doesn’t accept 576i , only720p, 1080i and upwards
I think it doesnīt work with virtualdub but it brings an utility a/v tools to capture and works with premiere pro. Does these limitations to capture in SD formats also apply with premiere or only with the a/v tools utility?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #16  
02-25-2016, 02:36 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Quote:
In the german forum I think itīs said to use the scart av1 to get th svideo signal and not the normal svideo out ,they speak about a more stable signal or similar situation , can you confirm this.
Yes Scart / Peritel


Quote:
I was also thinking to eventually buy a used Matrox MXO2 LE with a host pcie As you have one can you please confirm if these points are correct or not
Have only the Matrox MXO2 LE also sold a couple of days.
[ Ebay Art. Number 262276538885 ]

Toys only useful for output via HDMI from Adobe Premiere and Edius 7.51 and 8.10.
When capturing the CPU will be charged up to 90%.
This is too much.
What I still have a few pictures for remembrance.

The rest of the post, I do not understand
Reply With Quote
  #17  
02-25-2016, 07:47 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 69 Times in 63 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJAX1 View Post
I was also thinking to eventually buy a used Matrox MXO2 LE with a host pcie As you have one can you please confirm if these points are correct or not

-It seems reading the specifications that it can capture SD analog but the capture formats are only 720p and above .It seems it captures SD but records only HD.

It seems also only to accept HD hdmi ,apparently doesn’t accept 576i , only720p, 1080i and upwards
I think it doesnīt work with virtualdub but it brings an utility a/v tools to capture and works with premiere pro. Does these limitations to capture in SD formats also apply with premiere or only with the a/v tools utility?

Thanks in advance
I have owned at one point or another almost all the NTSC recommended hardware, and the MXO2 LE over PCIE is easily the best most reliable capture device I have owned.

Uncompressed captures are done at 720x486 which is true broadcast D1. It has the ability to capture at higher resolutions for component or HDMI. It can capture at 8bit or 10bit color, but will only use the Matrox AVI codec. Files are huge, but this is the first device I have not seen a sync issue with at one point or another going direct from a Panasonic AG1980.

There is some functionality with VirtualDub, but I honestly prefer the included free software. I do not own the Adobe suite but don't need it in my current workflow (FCP X or TMPG VMW 6 used for authoring).

It can simultaneously capture MPEG-2 at 4:2:2 up to 50 Mbps, and its H.264 hardware encoder is the best I have seen on a device I have owned. The MPEG-2 is good enough to use as an editing format, though not the best option offered by the device.

Easily my #1 capture device at this point, and considering the age of VHS, I doubt anything will be released that can compete on PQ, price, and reliability. It's like if one of the Blackmagic devices actually worked .
Reply With Quote
  #18  
02-25-2016, 10:03 PM
AJAX1 AJAX1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks premiumcapture

If you don’t mind can you answer some additional questions about the matrox LE as I’m deciding as to buy a used unit or not

Does the captured files with the A/V tools utility included use the matrox AVI codec only for 10 bits or also for 8 bits. Can these files be opened/used with virtualdub and avisynth to post processing ( cleaning restore ) and saved afterwards as a lossless type file or I will be obliged to do it in Premiere.

Can these files be used directly by TMPG VMW 6

Does it it supports 480i/576i Hdmi or only 720p and up and can I always save in SD format if I want to

H.264 hardware encode with an additional board or out of the box with the basic configuration

Sorry for large number of questions and thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #19  
02-25-2016, 11:35 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 69 Times in 63 Posts
Capture settings let you choose between 8 or 10 bits.

Codec is VFW and can be passed through to TMW6.

Not sure about any HDMI resolutions below 720p - why would you want to do this?

Only the MX02 'MAX' versions have the hardware encoder. The MX02 mini MAX desktop can be bought used fairly cheap.

One very important point I failed to mention about this - I am very easily a die-hard supporter of this device, but it does have one flaw that may or may not make a difference - it has hardware protection against Macrovision. I can capture with this in Virtualdub, but it will still block it even if not using proprietary software. If you have no copy-protection to worry about and you have a decent VCR, this is hands-down the best IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
03-01-2016, 08:31 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,086
Thanked 1,969 Times in 1,698 Posts
A TBC should be able to defy the anti-copy detection.

I've never understood the desire to capture x486 instead of the standard x480. I realize x486 is for broadcast, but I doubt any of us need broadcast spec files. We all want to transfer video to other formats for enjoyment, not rebroadcast. And that's ignoring the fact that it's now the HD era, not the SD era, and I'm not sure anybody uses SD broadcast specs at all now.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this a fake AVT8710 timebase corrector? TylerDurden389 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 10 06-22-2020 03:02 PM
Best VHS tape - media comparison jmac698 Blank Media 15 08-26-2016 09:03 AM
Canopus DVRex-M1 vs. Canopus ADVC-110? XP instead of Win7? via Email or PM Capture, Record, Transfer 1 09-30-2013 11:25 PM
VCR Comparison - VCR2PC vs RCA VHS VCR jmac698 Capture, Record, Transfer 21 08-07-2012 03:24 AM
My collection of comparison on Premiere Pro CS4 and. CS3 teddyB Edit Video, Audio 0 01-17-2010 07:28 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM