Quantcast Scrambled video in VirtualDub VHS capture? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
11-26-2015, 11:27 PM
FLGuy83 FLGuy83 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm new to all this. I help at a local arts non-profit called the Venture Compound where they have a pile of a couple dozen old CRT televisions stacked up, which they show strange old VHS tapes on. I'm trying to upload snippets of some of the tapes, a bit like everythingisterrible.com

I've begun some initial conversions. I have a Windows 7 Computer, an ATI 600 USB Card, and I've been using Vitualdub 1.10.4. and have access to a JVC HR-S6400S VCR, Sony SLV-679HF VCR and a Panasonic / Quasar VHQ-960 VCR.

Things were working until I attempted to capture the VHS tape the attached file comes from as an AVI file in virtualdub and it keeps getting scrambled. It plays fine on a TV. It happens in preview and capture. Is that copy protection? Or am I missing some setting in Vitualdub? I tried a different tape and I had no issues.

I've tried the following without any help: different VCRs, s-video and composite, different composite cable, restarting the computer, reseating the card.

I've attached the video compressed for size, but you should get the idea. Thanks for the help!


Attached Files
File Type: mpg Scrambled.mpg (18.17 MB, 21 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-27-2015, 10:31 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
Yes, copy protection. That's what the ATI 600 does when it detects Macrovision.

P.S. Weird that the video is a little postage stamp in the centre of a big black frame.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-28-2015, 02:52 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,907
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
That EIT site is fugly.

The video capture exhibits copy protection. You need a TBC to capture it. Copy protection (anti-copy, Macrovision) is an artificial video errors. A TBC corrects all errors, real or fake.

See also: What is a TBC? Time Base Correction for Videotapes

Postage stamping suggests that you've not picked the right capture settings in VirtualDub. Or the wrong encoding settings to make the attached MPEG.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
11-29-2015, 06:58 PM
FLGuy83 FLGuy83 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks a ton for the help!

EIT is ugly - after all, everything is TERRIBLE!

I know I need a TBC, but until I have the spare cash for one of the recommended units, would a Sima SED-CM work decently? Also, does the Sima SED-EM remove copy protection?

One other option in terms of a TBC is that I see a lot of reasonably priced stereo receivers list a built in TBC. For example there's a cheap Yamaha RX-V559 for sale locally, and the manual lists it has having a TBC. How well do those work?

I really appreciate the help!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
11-29-2015, 07:54 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,907
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Sima filters don't do anything. You'd just be wasting money.

Understand that "TBC" is a loosely defined term. For example, a Canopus ADVC-300 claims to have a TBC, but nothing can be detected. It still drops frames, it still can have audio sync issues, still has massive chroma/color flaws, etc. You need an external framesync TBC (not just TBC, not just framesync). You don't need genlock, line TBC, etc.

The odds of a DVD/stereo receiver having a true TBC is nil.

This is why models are often talked about: the AVT-8710 aka CTB-100, and the DataVideo TBCs.

There are some others, but they just get more pricy in most cases.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
12-01-2015, 12:32 PM
FLGuy83 FLGuy83 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks, it's very confusing. I wasn't clear it needed to be a TBC AND framesync. Thanks for sharing all your knowledge to help people preserve and share the past!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panasonic AG-W1 produces scrambled picture with no color, worth repair? autephex Video Hardware Repair 6 11-13-2014 07:06 AM
Scrambled recording on a D8/Hi8 tape? knumag Capture, Record, Transfer 9 06-03-2014 03:05 PM
VCR and VirtualDub VHS capture settings and advice sanCapture Capture, Record, Transfer 2 01-26-2014 05:28 PM
VirtualDub - Can't Capture Video rckowal Capture, Record, Transfer 7 01-19-2010 06:49 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM